Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Articles in Databases
The CSS Library has many online databases to help you with your research. They contain primarily articles from periodicals such as journals. There are two types of databases including general databases, which contain articles on all types of topics and specialized ones designed for a specific subject area such as nursing, education, psychology, business, etc.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.
How does it work?
Find the book, video or other article you want. Check to make sure the CSS Library does not have it or have online access to it. Then, fill out an online form.
A public resource for agricultural and biological information provided by the National Agricultural Library.
Science Direct Journals
Scholarly journals in a wide range of scientific disciplines.
Gale OneFile: Science
A collection of over 1000 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences.
Journals, magazines, & government documents focusing on the relationship between humans & the environment.
Science Reference Center
Full-text content of nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. + 250,000 science related images.
SORA indexes seven key journals in the field of ornithology.
"Google" all the Library's great resources.
Academic Search Premier
Our database with the broadest coverage of all disciplines.
The “SOLAR” of the Minnesota public library world.
Need help searching the databases? The Library has created step-by-step tutorials to help you.