Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference, to "refer to"
Title page of the Encyclopaedia by materialist philosopher Denis Diderot. Image from Credo Reference.
For the student and scholar, reference can have two meaning. One, a source that you can refer to for answers, and also the source, or reference, that accompanies a book or article. A good encyclopedia article gives you the best of both.
For "ready" reference - quick answers or definitions of terms, try Credo Reference.
For more in-depth answers, try the 10 volume Macmillan Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd edition. And if you like that, how about Bioethics, or The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas?
Browse here for philosophy encyclopedias.
Remember to check the bibliography at the end of an article - a basic trick to build your own bibliography for your paper. Browse the master list of print & electronic encyclopedias available to you as a student for more great sources for your other classes.
Articles on philosophy
Use the following Library databases for discovering articles from philosophy journals.
You can also use this open source.
Open-access index & bibliography of philosophy.
Books on philosophy
Search for CSS print & ebooks on philosophy & philosophers.
ScholastiCAT is the Library's catalogue, a listing of its books by author, title, & subject. Videos are also included. ScholastiCAT will search all of our print books, our video & media, and a portion of our e-books collections.
Academic eBook Collection
211,193 current academic titles.
Search libraries other than CSS. Request books through InterLlibrary Loan.
Search for books at other MN private colleges. Use the "request item" link to create an ILL request.
Search for books in the major academic & public libraries of the United States and thirteen other countries. WorldCAT is not part of our library system so you will have to use the link below to create an ILL request.
You can also use this open source.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Many of these (mostly pre-1923 books) are fully available to the researcher.
New to the Library
Ethics - Questions and Morality of Human Actions by
Publication Date: 2019
The third edition covers topics of recent interest in the twenty-first century, such as Heroic Medicine, Gender Identity, Wealth Inequality, LGBTQ Issues, and more. This encyclopedic work includes more than 1,000 essays organized by broad categories related to ethical issues. Ethics, in one form or another, has been a central issue in history since the earliest human beings began living together in communities. Few topics are more in need of clarification and discussion than ethics. Salem Press is pleased to announce the release of the third edition of Ethics, a four-volume set that significantly updates and expands the first edition, published in 1994. This new edition adds more than 50 articles to the set, raising the total to 1,038 essays and 6 appendices. This edition also updates and expands many of the original essays and adds other new features.
Simone de Beauvoir, Philosopher
"Google" all the Library's great resources.
School of Arts & Letters Librarian