CSSLibraryGuides: Health Humanities: 1. Reference

General Encyclopedias

Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
College level version of the classic encyclopedia.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Reference Works in the Health Humanities

The A-Z of Death and Dying : Social, Medical, and Cultural Aspects
Call Number: Ref. HQ1073 .A22 2014
1 volume, 2014
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Healers: Midwives, Nurses, and Physicians
Call Number: Ref. R692 .S38 2002
1 volume, 2002
A Biographical Encyclopedia of Medical Travel Authors
2010
Cambridge World History of Human Disease
Call Number: Call Number: Ref. R131 .C233 1993
1 volume, 1993
Death and the Afterlife : A Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. GT3150 .T25 2000
1 volume, 2000
A Dictionary of the History of Medicine
Call Number: Ref. R121 .S398 1999
1 volume, 1999
Encyclopedia of AIDS: A Social, Political, Cultural, and Scientific Record of the HIV Epidemic
Call Number: Ref. RA644.A25 E5275 1998
1 volume, 1998
Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society
Call Number: Ref. RC 254.5 .E48 2007
3 volumes, 2007
Encyclopedia of Death
Call Number: Ref. HQ1073 .E54 1989
1 volume, 1989
Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine
Call Number: Ref. R733 .H376 2004
1 volume, 2004
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreams: The Evolution, Function, Nature, and Mysteries of Slumber
Call Number: Ref. QP425 .E53 2012
2 volumes, 2012
Encyclopedia of the Black Death
Call Number: Ref. RC172 .B98 2012
1 volume, 2012
Encyclopedia of Trauma: An Interdisciplinary Guide
2012
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 4th edition
Call Number: Ref. R733 .G34 2014
4 volumes. 2014
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mediciine, 5th edition
9 volumes, 2015
Health and Illness: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Call Number: Ref. R733 .L477 1997
1 volume, 1997
Health and Wellness in Antiquity Through the Middle Ages
Call Number: Ref. R135 .Y67 2012
1 volume, 2012
Health and Wellness in the 19th Century
Call Number: Ref. RA776.5 .B79 2014
1 volume, 2014
Health and wellness in the Renaissance and Enlightenment
Call Number: Ref. RA776.5 .B97 2013
1 volume 2013
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
Call Number: Ref. HQ1073 .M33 2003
1 volume, 2003
Mapping Epidemics : A Historical Atlas of Disease
Call Number: Ref. RA792 .H64 2000
1 volume, 2000
Medicine, literature & eponyms : an encyclopedia of medical eponyms derived from literary characters
Call Number: Ref. R121 .R62 1989
1 volume, 1989
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine : An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Q124.97 .M43 2005
1 volume, 2005
Milestones in Health and Medicine
Call Number: Ref. R133 .H36 2000
1 volume, 2000
The Penn Center Guide to Bioethics
2009
Religions, Culture, and Healthcare : A Practical Handbook for Use in Healthcare Environments
Call Number: Ref. R725.55 .H65 2009
1 volume, 2009
The Sage Handbook of Health Care Ethics
1 volume, 2011
Women in Medicine: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. R692 .W545 2002
1 volume, 2002
World Religions for Healthcare Professionals
Call Number: Ref. BL65.M4 W67 2010
1 volume, 2010

Online Reference Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, Mind Map, and links to our other databases.

Credo Reference Tutorial

Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Use Reference Universe to search the table of contents & indexes of the majority our print & electronic encyclopedia collection.

Reference Universe Tutorial

Online Encyclopedia Collections

The Library has two large collections of online encyclopedias--from Gale and Sage--with good coverage in the health humanities. In both tools, you can search against the entire collection in addition to being able to look within individual reference titles.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale collection includes full-text to over 2,500 encyclopedias, including numerous titles in medicine and the health sciences.
Sage Reference Collection
Encyclopedias from a wide range of disciplines & topics. FOR FULL TEXT CONTENT: Choose the "available to me" button in the right-hand column.