CSSLibraryGuides: Post Bac Nursing Library Resources: 1. Reference

Encyclopedias on the health sciences

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 6th edition
9 volumes. 2020.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 5th edition
Call Number: Ref. RC41 .G35 2015
9 volumes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 3rd edition
Call Number: Ref. RC41 .G35 2002
5 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreams: The Evolution, Function, Nature, and Mysteries of Slumber
Call Number: Ref. QP425 .E53 2012
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
Call Number: Ref. R726 .E53 2004
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Health Communication
3 volumes. 2014.
50 Health Scares that Fizzled
Call Number: Ref. R729.9 .C35 2011
The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, 3rd edition
2014. 4 volumes.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery & Medical Tests: A Guide for Patients and Caregivers, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. RD17 .G34 2009
4 volumes.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
2 volumes. 2012.
The Praeger Handbook of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Call Number: Ref. RC963.32 .G85 2010
3 volumes.
The Lighthouse Handbook on Vision Impairment and Rehabilitation
Call Number: Ref. RE91 .L43x 2000
2 volumes.
Health and Wellness in the 19th Century
Call Number: Ref. RA776.5 .B79 2014
The Gale Encyclopedia of Prescription Drugs
2015. 2 volumes.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Dermatology
2017. 2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
2004.
Wellbeing: A Complete Reference Guide
2014.
Vaccination and Its Critics: A Documentary Reference Guide
Call Number: Ref. RA638 .R68 2017
Encyclopedia of Dermatology
6 volumes. 2016.
Grabb's Encyclopedia of Flaps: Head and Neck
Volume 1. 2016.
Encyclopedia of School Health
2013.
Transgender Health Issues
Call Number: Ref. RA564.9.T73 B67 2018
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology
2013.
From Anesthesia to X-Rays: Innovations and Discoveries that Changed Medicine Forever
Call Number: Ref. R702 .N63 2017
Guide to Buying Health Care Insurance
2020.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health, 2nd edidtion
2020.

Encyclopedia of Health Care Management
Call Number: Ref. RA971 .E52. 2008.
Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine
Call Number: Ref. RA1017 .E53 2005
4 volumes.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 4th edition
Call Number: Ref. R733 .G34 2014
4 volumes. 2014.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 2nd edition
2005. 4 volumes.
Health and Illness: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. R733 .L477 1997
Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine
Call Number: Ref. R733 .H376 2004
Encyclopedia of Healing Therapies
Call Number: Ref. R733 .W65 1997

Dictionary of Medical Biography
Call Number: Ref. R134 .D57 2007
5 volumes.
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Healers: Midwives, Nurses, and Physicians
Call Number: Ref. R692 .S38 2002
Women in Medicine: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. R692 .W545 2002
American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. RT34 .A44 1988
3 volulmes.
A Biographical Encyclopedia of Medical Travel Authors
2010.

Opinions Throughout History: Diseases & Epidemics
2020.
The Routledge History of Disease
2017.
Cambridge World History of Human Disease
Call Number: Ref. R131 .C233 1993
Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd edition
4 volumes. 2017.
Human Diseases and Conditions, 2nd edition
2010. 4 volumes.
Human Emerging and Re-emerging Infections
2016.
Infectious Diseases in Context
Call Number: Ref. RC111 .I516 2008
2 volumes.
Infectious Diseases and Conditions
Call Number: Ref. RC112 .I4577 2012
3 volumes.
Communicable Diseases
2020.
Encyclopedia of the Black Death
Call Number: Ref. RC172 .B98 2012
All things Black Death. Great topical index at the beginning of the book
Sexually Transmitted Disease: An Encyclopedia of Diseases, Prevention, Treatment, and Issues
Call Number: Ref. RC200.1 .S468 2014
2 volumes. 2014.
Encyclopedia of AIDS
2018.
The Encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS, 3rd edition
Call Number: Ref. RC606.6 .W385 2012
Encyclopedia of AIDS: A Social, Political, Cultural, and Scientific Record of the HIV Epidemic
Call Number: Ref. RA644.A25 E5275 1998
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society
2015. 3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society
Call Number: Ref. RC 254.5 .E48 2007
3 volumes.
Global Perspectives on Cancer: Incidence, Care, and Experience
Call Number: Ref. RC261 G54 2015
2 volumes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, 4th edition
3 volumes. 2015.
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, 3rd edition
2 volumes. 2010.
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, 2nd edition
2006. 2 volumes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders
2 volumes. 2012.
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders
2004.
Encyclopedia of Movement Disorders
3 volumes. 2010.
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders, 4th edition
Encyclopedia of Obesity
Call Number: Ref. RC628 .E53 2008
2 volumes.
Obesity: Health and Economic Consequences of an Impending Global Challenge
Publication Date: 2020.
Eating Disorders: A Reference Sourcebook
Call Number: Ref. RC552 .E18 C66 1999
Eating Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Treatment, and Prevention
Call Number: Ref. RC552.E18 E28216 2013
Encyclopedia of Feeding and Eating Disorders
2017.
Encyclopedia of Trauma: An Interdisciplinary Guide
2012.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, 4th edition
3 volumes. 2016.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
2010. 2 volumes.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
2006. 2 volumes.

World Religions for Healthcare Professionals
Call Number: Ref. BL65.M4 W67 2010
Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making
2 volumes. 2009.
The Sage Handbook of Health Care Ethics
Call Number: Ref. R724 .S34 2011
The Blackwell Guide to Medical Ethics
2006.
Philosophy: Medical Ethics
Call Number: Ref. R724 .P49 2016
Bioethics, 4th edition
Call Number: Ref. QH332 .E52 2014
5 volumes.
The Penn Center Guide to Bioethics
2009.
Human Medical Experimentation: From Smallpox Vaccines to Secret Government Programs
Call Number: Ref. R853.H8 H818 2017
Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide: Global Views on Choosing to End Life
Call Number: Ref. 726 .E97 2017

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 3rd edition
2 volumes. 2012.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. RC437 .G36 2008
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Call Number: Ref. RA790.5 .E53 1998
3 volumes.
Mental Health Care Issues in America: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. RC437 .M46 2013
2 volumes.
Mental Disorders of the New Millennium
Call Number: Ref. RC454 .M462 2006
3 volumes.
Women and Depression: A Handbook for the Social, Behavioral, and Biomedical Sciences
Call Number: Ref. RC537 .W658 2006
Concise Encyclopedia of Pain Psychology
Call Number: Ref. RB127 .F55 2005
Encyclopedia of Psychological Trauma
2008.
PTSD and Coping with Trauma Sourcebook
2020.
Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders, 2nd edition
2021.
The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
2011.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
2002.
The Encyclopedia of Depression
The International Encyclopedia of Depression
2009.
Encyclopedia of Suicide
3 volumes. 2016.
The Encyclopedia of Suicide
2017.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 4th edition
7 volumes. 2018.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health, 4th edition
Publication Date: 2018
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. RT21 .G353 2007
5 volumes.
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing
Call Number: Ref. RT31 .S66 1999
American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. RT34 .A44 1988
3 volulmes.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
Call Number: Ref. RT81.5 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. RT81.5 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, 3rd. edition
Call Number: Ref. RT81.5 .E53 2012
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, 4th edtion
Nursing Leadership : A Concise Encyclopedia, 2nd edition
2011.
Nursing Leadership: A Concise Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. RT89 .N7943 2008
Encyclopedia of Nursing Education
Call Number: Ref. RT21 .E53 2015
Nursing Theories and Models
Call Number: Ref. RT84.5 .N875x 2013
3 volumes.
Nursing Ethics
Call Number: Ref. RT85 .N87 2015
3 volumes.
American Indian Health and Nursing
2017.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels
Call Number: Ref. RA784 .G346 2017
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
2013. 2 volumes.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and Nutrition
Call Number: Ref. RA784 .G345 2008
2 volumes.
Nutrition and Well-Being, A to Z
Call Number: Ref. RA784 .N838 2004
Encyclopedia of Diet Fads
Call Number: Ref. RM222.2.B535 2003
Vitamins and Minerals
Call Number: Ref. TX553.V5 K76 2011
Encyclopedia of Vitamin Research
2011.
Agriculture for Improved Nutrition
2019.

Wellness Around the World: An International Encyclopedia of Health Indicators, Practices, and Issues
Call Number: Ref. RA441 .W397 2023
2 volumes. 2023.
Global Public Health and Disease Control Sourcebook
2022.
Global Pandemics and Epidemics and How They Relate to You
2020.
Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs
Call Number: Ref. RA423 .E53 2018
2 volumes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2nd edition
2 volumes. 2020.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
2 volumes. 2013.
Encyclopedia of Public Health
Call Number: Ref. RA423 .E53 2002
4 volumes.
U.S. Health and Health Care Policy
Call Number: Ref. RA418.3.U6 G857 2014
Encyclopedia of U.S. Biomedical Policy
Call Number: Ref. RA395.A3 E545 1996
Encyclopedia of Global Health
Call Number: Ref. RA441 .E53 2008
4 volumes.
Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues
2 volumes. 2016.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health
2 volumes. 2013.
Encyclopedia of School Health
2013.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Pregnancy and Childbirth
2 volumes. 2017.
Encyclopedia of Childbearing: Critical Perspectives
Call Number: Ref. RG525 .E52 1993
Birth Control: A Reference Handbook
2020.
Encyclopedia of Birth Control
Call Number: Ref. RG136 .R46x 2000
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health, 3rd edition
2016. 4 volumes.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence, 2nd edition
2011. 4 volumes.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence
Call Number: Ref. RJ26 .G35 2005
4 volumes.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development, 2nd edition
2017.
Abortion in the United States, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. HQ767.5 .U5 M3727

Encyclopedia of Research Design
2 volumes. 2010.
Encyclopedia of Case Study Research
2 volumes. 2009.
Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making
2 volumes. 2009.
Encyclopedia of Health Services Research
2 volumes. 2009.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
Call Number: Ref. RT81.5 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. RT81.5 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, 3rd. edition
Call Number: Ref. RT81.5 .E53 2012

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care, 3rd edition
Call Number: Ref. RC954 .E53 2014
The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health, 2nd edition
2015. 5 volumes.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health: A Guide for Seniors and Their Caregivers
Call Number: Ref. RC952.5 .G3485 2009
5 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Aging
4 volumes. 2002.
Encyclopedia of Health and Aging
Call Number: Ref. RA777.6 .E534 2007
Encyclopedia of Gerontology
Call Number: Ref. RC952.5 .E58 1996
2 volumes.
Aging: Demographics, Health, and Health Services
Call Number: Ref. RA564.8 .V54 2003
Encyclopedia of Ageism
2016.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care, 4th edition
2 volumes. 2017.

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Sports Science
Call Number: Ref. GV558 .E53 1997
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Movement Disorders
3 volumes. 2010.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology
Call Number: Ref. GV706.4 .E5 2014
2 volumes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness, 2nd edtion
2 volumes. 2017.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
2012. 2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Football Medicine: Trauma and Medical Emergencies
Volume 1. 2017.
Encyclopedia of Football Medicine: Injury Diagnosis and Treatment
Volume 2. 2017.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine
Contains ebooks for health sciences including drug reference guides.

Online Reference Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, Mind Map, and links to our other databases.

Credo Reference Tutorial

Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Use Reference Universe to search the table of contents & indexes of the majority our print & electronic encyclopedia collection.

Reference Universe Tutorial

Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
Over 2,500 encyclopedias & reference works on a wide range of disciplines & topics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Tutorial

Related Guides

Subject Encyclopedias
A guide to all specialized, scholarly encyclopedias available in the CSS collection

How to Cite an Encyclopedia Article

In APA

Spanish/English Terms for Nurses and NCLEX Exam Practice

Learning Resource Library
In search box, put in "Spanish for Nurses" to find this resource - "Improve communication between you and your patients! This guide includes basic Spanish grammar guidelines, key expressions to help facilitate conversation, physical terminology and anatomy, and more."
Put "NCLEX" or "Nursing Exams" in search box to find practice exams and flashcards for test preparation.

Online Reference Links

The Library offers some of its encyclopedias online, which means that you can access them anywhere through the Internet.

Since these collections are limited to the CSS population, you will need to login to these reference collections using your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password that is used to login to the CSS email or Brightspace.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Sage Reference Collection
Encyclopedias from a wide range of disciplines & topics. FOR FULL TEXT CONTENT: Choose the "available to me" button in the right-hand column.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Twentieth edition of this standard work produced by the National Association of Social Workers & Oxford University Press
Britannica Online
Access to Encyclopedia Britannica and its associated features