Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click here to bring up recent Reference titles in ScholastiCat.
Featured Reference Titles
The Handy Christianity Answer Book by
Call Number: Ref. BR145.3 .W47 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Engaging answers to common questions on the history, beliefs, practices and what it means to be a Christian. What does it mean to be a Christian? What is the core of the faith? What does it mean to follow the gospel? What is the significance of the rites, rituals, and symbols of Christianity, such as baptism and the crucifix? Who was Jesus Christ and what was His life like? How did Christianity start, spread, and grow? What are the differences--and similarities--between Roman Catholicism, Eastern Orthodoxy, and Protestantism? How did Christianity influence art, architecture, music, and movies? The Handy Christianity Answer Book provides detailed descriptions of the teachings of Jesus, Christian beliefs about Jesus, ceremonies, symbols, rituals, observations, customs, leaders, and organization of the world's largest religion. It clearly and eloquently explains how different Christians think and delves into the richness of the Christian tradition. This engaging, user-friendly primer looks at the significance of the Bible, Jesus, the Apostles, the Trinity, the Eucharist, historical schisms, divisions among different denominations, worship, sacraments, prayer, and much more. This important reference answers nearly 900 questions and offers fun facts that cover Christian history, religious practices, and cultural perspectives, including ... Who is a Christian? Why are there so many different kinds of Christians? Do the Dead Sea Scrolls tell us anything about Jesus? What language did Jesus speak? What are the last words spoken by Jesus? What is the style of the teachings of Jesus? What did Jesus say about loving one's enemies? Did Jesus have brothers? Who was John the Baptist? What are the basic beliefs of Mainline Christians? What is the Nicene Creed? What does Jesus have to do with the way our years are numbered? What is the Christian belief in an immortal soul? Is Heaven up and Hell down? Are there other kinds of angels besides angels and archangels? What is the devil? What were the Crusades? What was the Black Death? Who was Joan of Arc? Why is Martin Luther so important? What was Henry VIII of England's role in changing Christianity? What is the Salvation Army? Who was Pere Jacques Marquette? What are the Gothic cathedrals? Why was the artist Michelangelo important to Christians? Why do most churches have organs? What is the earliest major film about Jesus? What are the Catholic Sacraments? What is the Jesus Seminar? What is the largest statue of Jesus? What is the story behind Our Lady of Guadalupe? This information-rich book also provides a historic timeline, a glossary of commonly used terms, and a bibliography help further exploration of the world's largest religion. A perfect companion for anyone seeking a better understanding of Christianity.
The British Empire [2 Volumes] by
Call Number: Ref. DA16 .B693 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-29
An essential starting point for anyone wanting to learn about life in the largest empire in history, this two-volume work encapsulates the imperial experience from the 16th-21st centuries. From early sixteenth-century explorations to the handover of Hong Kong in 1997, the British Empire controlled outposts on every continent, spreading its people and ideas across the globe and profiting mightily in the process. The present state of our world--from its increasing interconnectedness to its vast inequalities and from the successful democracies of North America to the troubled regimes of Africa and the Middle East--can be traced, in large part, to the way in which Great Britain expanded and controlled its empire. The British Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia addresses a broader range of topics than do most other surveys of the empire, covering not only major political and military developments but also topics that have only recently come to serious scholarly attention, such as women's and gender history, art and architecture, indigenous histories and perspectives, and the construction of colonial knowledge and ideologies. By going beyond the "headline" events of the British Empire, this captivating work communicates the British imperial experience in its totality. Provides primary sources that give voice to the people who ran, opposed, and were subjects of the British Empire Consolidates the most up-to-date research from established and emerging scholars in the field in many countries and at many institutions Includes a detailed introduction that succinctly puts the British Empire into historical context Offers a chronology of events and episodes important to both the rise and fall of the British Empire Provides a broad range of perspectives that focus not only on the white men who controlled the British Empire but also on the many people--such as women, indigenous peoples, poor Europeans, and Christian missionaries--who formed it Avoids simplistic assessments of British imperialism as merely "good" or "bad," emanating an objectivity that enables readers to develop their own ideas about the nature of the empire
The History of Cartography by
Call Number: Ref. GA201 .H53 1987 vol.4
Publication Date: 2020-05-18
Since its launch in 1987, the History of Cartography series has garnered critical acclaim and sparked a new generation of interdisciplinary scholarship. Cartography in the European Enlightenment, the highly anticipated fourth volume, offers a comprehensive overview of the cartographic practices of Europeans, Russians, and the Ottomans, both at home and in overseas territories, from 1650 to 1800. The social and intellectual changes that swept Enlightenment Europe also transformed many of its mapmaking practices. A new emphasis on geometric principles gave rise to improved tools for measuring and mapping the world, even as large-scale cartographic projects became possible under the aegis of powerful states. Yet older mapping practices persisted: Enlightenment cartography encompassed a wide variety of processes for making, circulating, and using maps of different types. The volume's more than four hundred encyclopedic articles explore the era's mapping, covering topics both detailed--such as geodetic surveying, thematic mapping, and map collecting--and broad, such as women and cartography, cartography and the economy, and the art and design of maps. Copious bibliographical references and nearly one thousand full-color illustrations complement the detailed entries.
The Factory by
Call Number: Ref. HD2350.8 .M37 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
The book goes beyond the assembly line to examine the physical environment of the industrial landscape. What machines are used to make cars and computer chips? Who are the people who make the products? When did robots replace humans on the assembly line? Why are factories configured the way they are? The Factory: A Social History of Work and Technology answers these questions and more, offering readers a behind-the-scenes look into the wonders of mass production. The book traces the history of the factory from the first small cottage workshop through the Industrial Revolution to the large, clean room it is today. It also examines the people behind the machines and how their roles have been defined by the design of factory buildings. Lastly, it illustrates the broader world of industrialization in relation to the effects it has had on workers and the consumer society that feeds it. Appeals to readers interested in world history, industrial tourism, and the robotics industry Explains the significance of the factory to American history and culture Tells the story of American factory work through spaces and objects Details how factory buildings have evolved over the years
Canids of the World by
Call Number: Ref. QL737.C22 C374 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-11
The most complete and user-friendly photographic field guide to the world's canids This stunningly illustrated and easy-to-use field guide covers every species of the world's canids, from the Gray Wolf of North America to the dholes of Asia, from African jackals to the South American Bush Dog. It features more than 150 superb color plates depicting every kind of canid and detailed facing-page species accounts that describe key identification features, morphology, distribution, subspeciation, habitat, and conservation status in the wild. The book also includes distribution maps and tips on where to observe each species, making Canids of the World the most comprehensive and user-friendly guide to these intriguing and spectacular mammals. Covers every species and subspecies of canid Features more than 150 color plates with more than 600 photos from around the globe Depicts species in similar poses for quick and easy comparisons Describes key identification features, habitat, behavior, reproduction, and much more Draws on the latest taxonomic research Includes distribution maps and tips on where to observe each species The ideal field companion and a delight for armchair naturalists