CSSLibraryGuides: Physical Therapy: 3. Articles

Searching for Articles in Databases

The CSS Library has many online databases to help you with your research. They contain primarily articles from periodicals such as journals.

There are two types of databases including general databases, which contain articles on all types of topics and specialized ones designed for a specific subject area such as nursing, education, psychology, business, etc.

If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in using your CSS login - the same as what you use for Brightspace, my.CSS, and your CSS Gmail.
All databases to which the CSS Library subscribes

General Databases

SOLAR
"Google" all the Library's great resources.
Academic Search Premier

Our database with the broadest coverage of all disciplines.
MNLINK
The “SOLAR” of the Minnesota public library world.

Top Physical Therapy Databases

MedLine Complete
The premier medical database. It includes indexing and full-text for important titles in Physical Therapy including Physiotherapy International and Physical Therapy.
CINAHL Ultimate
Comprehensive coverage of journal literature in nursing and allied health. Titles in PT include Physical Therapy Reviews and Physiotherapy Theory & Practice.
Directory of Open-Access Journals (DOAJ)
Includes a number of titles of interest in Physical Therapy and Sports Science including The Open Rehabilitation Journal, The Journal of Foot and Ankle Research and New Zealand Journal of Physiotherapy.

Pedro
This database gives "rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not."

PubMed
This is the public access version to Medline.
Science Direct Journals
Scholarly journals from a wide range of scientific disciplines. The coverage for Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine is quite good. Titles include Physical Therapy in Sport, Clinics of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, and Archives of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation.

More Health-Related Databases

ALT HealthWatch
Reference materials & journals covering alternative & complimentary health.
APA PsycINFO

Premier database for psychology. Includes indexing of journals, books, & dissertations.
Cochrane Library
Systematic reviews of evidence-based medicine.
Consumer Health Complete
Information for patients on traditional & alternative medicine.
Health and Wellness
Up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
Nursing and Allied Health
Journals for nurses and physician assistants.
Health Business Elite
Journal coverage of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
HealthSource - Consumer Edition
Approx. 80 consumer health magazines.
HealthSource - Nursing/Academic Edition
Over 500 journals. Also includes the AHFS Consumer Medication Information guides.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection

Nursing journals & videos. CINAHL will provide a more comprehensive search.
SocINDEX with Full-Text
Best social work/sociology-specific database. Includes, journals, books, & conference papers.

How to Cite Articles

In APA:

Instructions for Databases

SOLAR
Instructions on how to use the Library's discovery system
EBSCO
For all EBSCO databases including CINAHL, MEDLINE, APA PsycINFO, Business Source Ultimate, SocINDEX etc.
Proquest
For all Proquest databases including Nursing & Allied Health, Medical Library, and newspapers
Science Direct
Cochrane Library
PubMed
JSTOR
Newsbank