Skip to main content

SWK 6501: Advanced Practice: Military Social Work: Home

Class reading for SWK 6501.

Reading List

Required Reading
SWK 6501: Advanced Practice: Military Social Work
Spring 2015

 

 

WEEK 1 
INTRODUCTIONS AND COURSE OVERVIEW

 

WEEK 2 
SOCIAL WORK PRACTICE IN THE MILITARY: AN HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVE

Required Reading

Harris, J. (2012).  A brief history of U.S. military families and the role of social workers. Chapter 18 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Rubin, A & Harvie, H. (2012).  A brief history of social work with the military and veterans. Chapter 1 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Savinsky, L., Illingworth, M. & DuLaney, M. (2009). Civilian social work: Serving the military and veteran populations. Social Work, 54, 327-339.

Recommended Reading

Flynn, M. & Hussan, A. (2010). Unique challenges of war in Iraq and Afghanistan. Journal of Social Work Education, 46, 169-173.

Manske, J.E. (2006). Social work in the Department of Veteran Affairs: Lessons learned. Health and Social Work. 31, 233-238

 

WEEK 3 
MILITARY CULTURE AND TRANSITION TO CIVILIAN LIFE

Required Reading

Coll, J. E., Weiss, E. L., & Metal, M. (2012). Military culture and diversity.  Chapter 2 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Coll, J. E., Weiss, E. L. (2012). Transitioning veterans into civilian life. Chapter 17 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Recommended Reading

United States Army. (2013). Army Demographics: FY13 Army profile. Retrieved from http://www.armyg1.army.mil/hr/docs/demographics/FinalFY13Army%20ProfileReport.pdf

United States Army. (2008). The changing profile of the Army: 1985-2008. Retrieved from http://www.armyg1.army.mil/hr/docs/demographics/Changing%20Profile%20report%20December%202008.pdf

Kelty, R., Kleykamp, M. & Segal, D.R. (2010). The military and the transition to adulthood. Future of Children, 20, 181-207.

Junger, S. (2011, July 16) Why would anyone miss war? Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/17/opinion/sunday/17junger.html?_r=0

 

WEEK 4
No readings this week.

 

WEEK 5
ETHICAL CHALLENGES FOR SOCIAL WORKERS HELPING SERVICE MEMBERS, VETERANS AND THEIR FAMILIES

Required Reading

Daley, J.G. (2012).  Ethical decision making in military social work. Chapter 4 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

National Association of Social Workers. (2012). NASW standards for social work practice with service members, veterans, & their families.  Retrieved from https://www.socialworkers.org/practice/military/documents/MilitaryStandards2012.pdf


WEEK 6 

SCREENING, ASSESSMENT AND EARLY INTERVENTION OF PTSD AND OTHER COMBAT RELATED STRESS DISORDERS

Required Reading

Yarvis, J.S. (2012). Posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) in veterans. Chapter 6 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds.) Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Stehberg, J., Albright, D.L., & Weiss, E.L. (2012). The neurobiology of PTSD and cognitive processing therapy (CPT). Chapter 7 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Capehart, B. & Jeffreys, M. (2012). Psychopharmacology for PTSD and co-occurring disorders. Chapter 9 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Recommended Reading

Gifford, R.K. (2006). Psychological aspects of combat. In Britt, T.W., Adler, A. B. & Castro, C.A. (Eds.). Military Life: The psychology of serving in peace and combat. Westport, Connecticut: Praeger Security International.

Maguen, S. et al. (2010).  The impact of reported direct and indirect killing on mental health symptoms in Iraq War Veterans. Journal of Traumatic Stress, 23(1) 86-90.

Van Winkle, E.P. & Safer, M. (2011).  Killing versus witnessing in combat trauma and reports of PTSD symptoms and domestic violence. Journal of Traumatic Stress, 24(1) 107-110.


WEEK 7
PTSD AND TREATMENT IMPLICATIONS FOR SOCIAL WORKERS

Required Reading

Leaman, S, Rothbaum, B.O. Difede, J. Cudor, J., Gerardi, M. & Rizzo, A. (2012). Treating Combat related PTSD with virtual reality exposure therapy. Chapter 8 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Recommended Reading

Adler, A.B., Bliese, P.D., McGurk, D. & Hoge, C.W. (2009) Battlemind debriefing and battlemind training as early interventions with soldiers returning from Iraq: Randomization by platoon. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology. 77, 928-940.

Britt, T.W., Greene-Shortridge, T.M., & Castro, C. (2007). The stigma of mental health problems in the military. Military Medicine, 172, 157- 161.

Healy, P. (2009, November 12). The anguish of war for today’s soldiers, explored by Sophocles. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2009/11/12/theater/12greeks.html?pagewanted=all

Rahilly, E. Tuttle, K. and Gittelson, D. (2011) The first responders’ bridge to protection of veterans. In D. Cameron Kelly, S. Howe-Barksdale & D. Gitelson (Eds) Treating Young Veterans.  NY: Springer.


WEEK 8
TBI AND IMPLICATIONS FOR SOCIAL WORKERS

Required Reading

Boyd, C, & Asmussen, S. (2012). Traumatic brain injury (TBI) and the military. Chapter 10 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work.  New York: Wiley and Sons.

Struchen, M.A., Clark, A.N, & Rubin, A. (2012). TBI and social work practice.  Chapter 11 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons. (Note: this appears incorrectly (misnamed) in the syllabus as Traumatic brain injury (TBI) and the military.)

Recommended Reading

French, L.M. & Parkinson, G.W. (2008). Assessing and treating veterans with traumatic brain injury. Journal of Clinical Psychology: In Session, 84, 1004-1013.

 

WEEK 9
SCREENING ASSESSMENT AND INTERVENTION FOR SUICIDE AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE

Required Reading

Rubin, A. & Barnes, W.G. (2012).  Assessing, preventing and treating substance use disorders in active duty military settings. Chapter 12 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Burda-Chmielewski, R. & Nowlin, A. (2012).  Preventing and intervening with substance use disorders in veterans. Chapter 13 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Cato, C. (2012).  Suicide in the military. Chapter 14 in A. Rubin, E.Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Recommended Reading

United States. Department of Defense. Suicide event report: Calendar year 2013 annual report.  Retrieved from http://www.suicideoutreach.org/Docs/Reports/2013_DoDSER_Annual_Report.pdf

 

WEEK 10 
DEMANDS AND STRESSORS UNIQUE TO MILITARY FAMILY, MILITARY CHILDREN AND DEPLOYMENT

Required Reading

Franklin, K. (2012). Cycle of deployment and family well-being. Chapter 19 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Harnett, C. (2013). Supporting National Guard and Reserve members and their families. Chapter 20 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Harrington-LaMorie, J. (2012). Grief, loss and Bereavement in military families. Chapter 22 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Recommended Reading

Cozza, S. Chun, R., Polo, J. (2005). Military families and children during the operation Iraqi Freedom.  Psychiatric Quarterly, 76, 371-378.

Marshall, A.D., Panuzio, J., & Taft, C.T. (2005). Intimate partner violence among military veterans and actice duty service men. Clinical Psychology Review, 25, 862-876.

Wheaton, S. (2012, January 9). When injuries to the brain tear at hearts. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/10/health/when-injuries-to-the-brain-tear-at-hearts.html?pagewanted=all

Eaton, K., Hoge, C.W., Messer, S., Whitt, A., Cabrora, O, McGurk,D., Cox, A., & Castro, C.A. (2008). Prevalence of mental health problems, treatment need, and barriers to care among primary care-seeking spouses of military service members involved in Iraq and Afghanistan deployments. Military Medicine, 173, 1051-6.

Gibbs, D.A., Martin, S.L., Kupper, L.I., & Johnson, R.E. (2007). Child maltreatment in enlisted soldiers’ families during combat-related deployments. Journal of the American Medical Association, 298, 528-535.


WEEK 11
FAMILY INTERVENTION AND PREVENTION STRATEGIES


Required Reading

Basham, K. (2012). Couple therapy for redeployed military and veteran couples. Chapter 25 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Weiss, E.G., DeBraber, Santoyo, A., & Creager, T. (2012). Theory and practice with military couples and families. Chapter 26 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Recommended Reading

Gottman, J.M, Gottman, J.S., & Atkins, C. (2011). The comprehensive soldier fitness program: Family skills component. American Psychologist, 66, 52-57.

Leskin, G.A., Garcia. E. D’Amico, J., Mogil, C.E., Lester, P.E. (2012) Family-centered programs and interventions for military children and youth. In A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Monson, C.M & Fredman, S. (2008). Cognitive-behavioral conjoint therapy for posttraumatic stress disorder: Application to Operation Enduring and Iraqi Freedom veterans. Journal of Clinical Psychology In Session, 64, 958-971.

 

WEEK 12 
CO-OCCURENCE OF PROBLEMS, DIFFERENTIAL ASSESSMENT AND THE ROLE OF CARE COORDINATION

Required Reading

Roberts, J. (2012). Navigating systems of care. Chapter 16 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Batten, S.V. & Pollack, S.J. (2008). Integrative outpatient treatment for returning service members. Journal of Clinical Psychology: In Session, 64, 928-939.

Recommended Reading

Hoge, C.W., Castro, C.A., Meser, S.C, McGurk, K, Cotting, D. I & Koffman, R.L., (2004). Combat duty in Iraq & Afghanistan, mental health problems and barriers to care. New England Journal of Medicine, 351, 13-22.

Cartwright, T. (2011). “To care for him who shall have borne the battle”: The recent development of veterans treatment courts in America. Stanford Law & Policy Review, 22(1), 295-316.


WEEK 13
SPECIAL POPULATIONS SERVING IN THE MILITARY: WOMEN-SEXUAL ASSAULT

Required Reading

Weiss, E. L., & DeBraber, T. (2012). Women in the military. Chapter 3 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Bell, M.E. & Reardon, A. (2012). Experiences of sexual harassment and sexual assault in the military among OEF/OIF veterans: Implications for health care providers. Social Work in Health Care, 50, 34-50.

Recommended Reading

Corbett, S. (2007, March 15). The Women’s War.  New York Times Magazine. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2007/03/18/magazine/18cover.html?pagewanted=all

Washington, D., Yano, E., McGuire, J. & Hines, V. (2010). Risk factors for homelessness among women veterans. Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved, 21(1), 82-91.

Kimmerly, R., Street, A., Pavao, J, Smith, M., Cronkite, R., Holmes, T., & Frayne, S. (2010). Military-related sexual trauma among Veterans Health Administration patients returning from Afghanistan and Iraq.  American Journal of Public Health, 100,1409-1412.

 

WEEK 14 
SPECIAL POPULATIONS SERVING IN THE MILITARY: GLBT, IMMIGRANTS AND MUSLIMS

Required Reading

Immigrants

Stock, M.D. (2006). Essential to the fight: Immigrants in the military, five years after 9/11. Immigration Policy in Focus, 5(9).

Recommended Reading

Gays and Lesbians

Bumiller, E. (2012, September 10). One year later, military says gay policy is working. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/20/us/dont-ask-dont-tell-anniversary-passes-with-little-note.html?pagewanted=all

Dao, J. (2011, July 17). Same-sex marriage faces military limits. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/17/us/17military.html?pagewanted=all

Kerrigan, M. (2012). Transgender discrimination in the military: The new don’t ask, don’t tell. Psychology, Public Policy and Law, 18, 500-518.

Swarns, R. (2012, November 16). Out of the closet and into the uniform. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2012/11/18/fashion/military-academies-adjusting-to-repeal-of-dont-ask-dont-tell.html?pagewanted=all

Muslims

Elliott, A. (2009, November 9). Complications grow for Muslims serving in U.S. Military. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2009/11/09/us/09muslim.html?pagewanted=all


WEEK 15
RESILIENCE

Required Reading

Rubin, A. & Weiss, E. (2012).  Secondary trauma in military social work. Chapter 5 in A. Rubin, E. Weiss & J. Coll (Eds). Handbook of Military Social Work. New York: Wiley and Sons.

Recommended Reading

Cornum, R., Mathews, M. & Seligman, M. (2011) Comprehensive Soldier Fitness: Building resiliency in a challenging institutional context. American Psychologist, 66(1), 4-9.