The Raven, or North Reading Room, of the Library
The simplest way to find a good background article on your topic is to search one of our reference eBook collections. But browsing is a fine way, too, and gives you access to thousands of print encyclopedias. And sometimes when you browse you find something you did not even know you were looking for.
Below are some of our online subject encyclopedias which might be of interest for your research in Social Work. As you link to these titles, you might be prompted for the login and password you received from the Library.
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia
DSM Library
Encyclopedia of African American Society
Encyclopedia of Aging
Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy
Encyclopedia of Black Studies
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
Encyclopedia of Community
Encyclopedia of Disability
Encyclopedia of Homelessness
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment
Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
The following list of encyclopedias is just some of what is available in the CSS Library's Reference Collection located on the first floor of the Library: