HISTORY - UNITED STATES - Subject Encyclopedias @ The College of St. Scholastica Library - CSSLibraryGuides at The College of St. Scholastica

Encyclopedia of American Studies
2021.
What Happened? An Encyclopedia of Events that Changed America
Call Number: Ref. E174 .W47 2011
4 volumes.
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: Ref. E174 .D52 2003
10 volumes.
Christopher Columbus Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. E111 .C774 1991
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies
Call Number: Ref. E45 .E53 1993
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Call Number: Ref. E169.1 .E626 2001
3 volumes.
The Louisiana Purchase: A Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. E333.L69 2002
Encyclopedia of the Lewis & Clark Expedition
Call Number: Ref. F592.7 W68 2004
James Madison and the American Nation, 1751-1836: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. E342 .J36 1995
The Civil War and Reconstruction: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History
Call Number: Ref. E468 .S65 2011
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Reconstruction Era
Call Number: Ref. E668 .E53 2006
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Gilded and Progressive Era
Publication Date: Ref. E661 .E53 2005
3 volumes. 2005.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century
Call Number: Ref. E740.7 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
Call Number: Ref. E806 .E63 2004
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, 4th edition
2021.
Presidents: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. E176.1 .H215 2001
A Companion to First Ladies
2016.
First Ladies: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. E172.2 .S36 2001
Vice Presidents: A Biographical Dictionary, 5th edition
2015.
Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America
2020.
Milestone Documents of American Leaders, 2nd edition
4 volumes. 2017.
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HN57 .R48 2011
3 volumes.
Social History of the United States
Call Number: Ref. HN57 .S63x 2009
10 volumes.
Disasters and Tragic Events: An Encyclopedia of Catastrophes in American History
Call Number: Ref. E179 .D53 2014
2 volumes. 2014.
Culture Wars in the United States: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. HM1121 .C85 2014
3 volumes.
The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives
19891-2010. 8 volumes.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
2001.
Encyclopedia of American Studies
2016.
The Encyclopedia of The Continental Congresses
2015.
Modern American Lives: Individuals and Issues in American History Since 1945
2008.
The American Middle Class: An Economic Encyclopedia of Progress and Poverty
Call Number: Ref. HT690.U6 A465 2017
2 volumes. 2017.
Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document Collection
Call Number: Ref. HQ1410 .W6468 2017
4 volumes.
Gale Biographies: Popular People
2018.
The American Flag: An Encyclopedia of the Stars and Stripes in U.S. History, Culture, and Law
Call Number: Ref. CR113 .V55 2018
Political Assassins, Terrorists and Related Conspiracies in American History
2021.
Milestone Visual Documents in American History: The Images, Cartoons, and Other Visual Sources that Shaped America
2023.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States, 8th edition
Call Number: Ref. E156 .W67 2016
2 volumes. 2016.
Cities of the United States
2012. 4 volumes.
The Encyclopedia of New York City, 2nd edition
2010.
Jamestown Colony: A Political, Social, and Cultural History
Call Number: Ref. F234.J3 G75 2007
Encyclopedia of New Jersey
2004.
The Routledge History of the American South
2018.
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
Call Number: Ref. F209 .E53 1989
Encyclopedia of the American West
Call Number: Ref. F591 .E485 1996
4 volumes.
The New Encyclopedia of the American West
Call Number: Ref. F591 .N46 1998
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
2007. 2 volumes.

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2nd edition
2016.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. E183.7 .E52 2002
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
Call Number: Ref. E183.7 .E53 1997
4 volumes.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History
2 volumes. 2013.
The Legacy of the Monroe Doctrine: A Reference Guide to U.S. Involvement in Latin America and the Caribbean
Call Number: Ref. F1418 .D458 1999
Belligerents, Brinkmanship, and the Big Stick: A Historical Encyclopedia of American Diplomatic Concepts
Call Number: Ref. E183.7 .D59 2009

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 3rd edition
Call Number: Ref. E184.A1 G14 2014
4 volumes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural American, 2nd edtion
2000. 3 volumes.
The SAGE Handbook of International Migration
2020.
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration, 2nd edition
2016.
American Immigration: An Encyclopedia of Political, Social, and Cultural Change, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. JV6465 .E53 2013
4 volumes.
Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaption, and Integration
Call Number: Ref. JV6450 .I5536 2013
4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Call Number: Ref. JV6465 .E53 2010
3 volumes.
Anti-Immigration in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. JV6450 .A67 2011
2 volumes.
Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present
Call Number: Ref. JV6012 .I56 2005
3 volumes.
Immigration: Examining the Facts
Call Number: Ref. JV6465 .E25 2017
The Ashgate Research Companion to Migration Law, Theory and Policy
2013.
Undocumented Immigrants in the United States: An Encyclopedia of Their Experience
Call Number: Ref. JV6475 .U48 2014
2 volumes.
American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
Call Number: Ref. E184.A1 A63448 1997
2 volumes.
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Call Number: Ref. E184 .A1 H35
The Encyclopedia of the Irish in America
Call Number: Ref. E184.I6 E53 1999
The Italian American Experience: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. E184.I8 I673 2000

People of Color in the United States: Contemporary Issues in Education, Work, Communities, Health, and Immigration
Call Number: Ref E184 .A1 2016
4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From Colonial Times to the Age of Frederick Douglass
Call Number: Ref. E185 .E545 2006
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of African American History: 1896 to the Present
Call Number: Ref. E185 .E5453 2009
5 volumes.
Encyclopedia of African-American History and Culture, 2nd edition
6 volumes. 2006.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 1996
5 volumes + supplement.
Encyclopedia of African-American Politics
2014.
Black America: A State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. E185 .B537 2011
2 volumes.
Negro Almanac: A Reference Work on the African-American
Call Number: Ref. E185 .N385 1989
Jim Crow: A Historical Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
Call Number: Ref. E185.61 .J526 2014
Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights
Call Number: Ref. E185.61 .E54 1992
Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. E185.86 .B542 1993
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
Call Number: Ref. NX512.3 .A35 E53 2004
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2nd edition
2013. 4 volumes.
Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopdedia of the American Mosaic
Call Number: Ref. E184.A1 R254 2014
4 volumes.
African Americans at Risk: Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice
Call Number: Ref. E185.86 S752 2015
2 volumes. 2015.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage
Call Number: Ref. HT1322 .E63 2007
World of a Slave: Encyclopedia of the Material Life of Slaves in the United States
Call Number: Ref. E441 .W895 2011
2 volumes.
Understanding 19th-Century Slave Narratives
Call Number: Ref. E444 .U54 2016
American Slave Revolts and Conspiracies: A Reference Guide
Call Number: Ref. E447 .W37 2015
The Underground Railroad: An Encyclopedia of People, Places, and Operations
2008.
Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World
2007.
Milestone Documents in African American History
3 volumes. 2017.
Black Power Encyclopedia: From "Black is Beautiful" to Urban Uprisings
Call Number: Ref. E185.615 .B546647 2018
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas
2012.

The Routledge Handbook of Asian American Studies
2017.
Asian Americans: An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History
Call Number: Ref. E184.A75 A842648 2014
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today
Call Number: Ref. E184.A75 E53 2010
2 volumes.
Asian American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. E184.A75 A8287 2010
2 volumes.
People of Color in the United States: Contemporary Issues in Education, Work, Communities, Health, and Immigration
Call Number: Ref E184 .A1 2016
4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Japanese American History: An A-Z Reference from 1868 to the Present, updated edition
Call Number: Ref. E184.J3 2001
Encyclopedia of Japanese American Internment
Call Number: Ref. D769.8.A6 E64 2013
2013.
Chinese Americans: The History and Culture of a People
Call Number: Ref. E184.C5 C4797

Encyclopedia of Latino Culture: From Calaveras to Quinceaneras
Call Number: Ref.E184 .S75 E588 2014
3 volumes.
U.S. Latino Issues
Call Number: Ref. E184.S75 A67 2017
Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
3 volumes. 2006.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinas & Latinos in the United States
Call Number: Ref. E184.S75 O97 2005
4 volumes.
People of Color in the United States: Contemporary Issues in Education, Work, Communities, Health, and Immigration
Call Number: Ref E184 .A1 2016
4 volumes.
Reference Library of Hispanic America
Call Number: Ref. E184 .S75 R44x 1993
3 volumes.
Latinos and the Criminal Justice System: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HV6791 .L38 2016

St James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
5 volumes. 2013.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America
Call Number: Ref. E169.1 G7553 2009
4 volumes.
American Pop: Popular Culture by the Decade
Call Number: Ref. E169.1 .A4475 2009
4 volumes.
Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th and 21st Century AmerIca
2012. 6 volumes.
Handbook of American Popular Culture
Call Number: Ref. E169.1 .H2643 1978
3 volumes.
Americas Favorite Holidays: Candid Histories
2015.
The ABC-CLIO Companion to the 1960's Counterculture in America
Call Number: Ref. E169.02 .H3515 1997
Conspiracies and Conspiracy Theories in American History
Call Number: Ref. 170 .C6556 2019
2 volumes.