CSSLibraryGuides: Subject Encyclopedias @ The College of St. Scholastica Library: HISTORY & COUNTRIES

Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: Ref. CB5 .D52 ]1974].
5 volumes.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: Ref. CB9 .N49 2005
6 volumes.
Archival Information: How to Find It, How to Use It
Call Number: Ref. CD3021 .A38 2004
World History Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. D9 .W67 2011
21 volumes. See volumes 7-13. Broad themes across cultures.
Companion to Historiography
Call Number: Ref. D13 .C626 1997
Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing
Call Number: Ref. D14 .E53 1999
2 volumes.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World: 1750 to the Present
Call Number: Ref. D205 .O94 2008
8 volumes.
Nations and Nationalism: A Global Historical Overview
Call Number: Ref. D299 .N37 2008
4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Fundamental Themes
2001. Volume 1.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Leaders, Movements, and Concepts
2001. Volume 2.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
3 volumes. 2007.
Encyclopedia of Empire
4 volumes. 2016.
Colonialism: An International Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. JV22 .C65 2003
3 volumes.
The Oxford Companion to World Exploration
Call Number: Ref. G80 .O95 2007
2 volumes.
The ABC-CLIO World History Companion to Utopian Movements
Call Number: Ref. HX626 .H65 1998
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Studies
5 volumes. 2019.
Cities of the World, 6th edition
2002. 4 volumes.
Countries and Their Cultures
2001. 4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
1996. 10 volumes.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures: Supplement
2002.
Histories of Everyday LIfe in Totalitarian Regimes
Call Number: Ref. JC480 .H57 2015
3 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life,
2009. 5 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 13th edition
2012. 5 volumes.
Global Happiness: A Guide to the Most Contented (and Discontented) Places Around the Globe
Call Number: Ref. HN25 .C93 2016
Encyclopedia of Ephemera: A Guide to the Fragmentary Documents of Everyday Life for the Collector, Curator, and Historian
Call Number: Ref. NC1260 .R52 2000
Encyclopedia of World Biography
2014.
Encyclopedia of Archival Science
Call Number: Ref. CD945 .E53 2015
Gale Biographies: Popular People
2018.
The Encyclopedia of Conspiracies and Conspiracy Theories
2005.
Encyclopedia of the Age of Revolution and Empire (1750 to 1900)
2016.
Encyclopedia of the Early 20th Century (1900 to 1950)
2016.
Encyclopedia of the Contemporary World (1950 to Present)
2016.
Opinions Throughout History: Globalization
2019.
Companion to Urban and Regional Studies
2021.

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology
1999.
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Call Number: Ref. CC70 .O96 1996
Archaeology in America: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. E159.5 .A68 2009
4 volumes.
Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. D125 .M42 2001
The medieval world as seen through the archaeological evidence.
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Archaeology
2014.

The Cambridge World Prehistory
Call Number: Ref. GN710 .C36 2012
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Ancient History
13 volumes + online updates. 2013.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient World (Prehistoric to 600 CE)
2016.
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
2006.
Animals in the Ancient World: From A to Z
Call Number: Ref. QL355 .K58 2014
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Call Number: Ref. DT58 .O94 2001
3 volumes.
African Kingdoms: An Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations
Call Number: Ref. DT25 .A646 2017
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
Call Number: Ref. DS57 .C55 1997
4 volumes.
Handbook to Life in Ancient Mesopotamia
Call Number: Ref. DS69.5 B47 2003
The Persian Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DS275 .K5 2016
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece
Call Number: Ref. DF16 .E52 2006
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, 3rd edition
2015.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome
Call Number: Ref. DE5 .O95 2010
7 volumes.
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C. - A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
Call Number: Ref. D62 .A52 2004
2 volumes.
Early Peoples of Britain and Ireland: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA135 .E27 2008
2 volumes. Scholarly articles. Coverage includes Viking age.
Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
Call Number: Ref. DE5 .L29 1999
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists: The Greek Tradition and Its Many Heirs
Call Number: Ref. Q124.95 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome, 3rd edition
2012.
A Companion to the City of Rome
2018.
The World of Ancient Rome: A Daily Life Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DG77 .E77 2015
2 volumes.
Health and Wellness in Antiquity through the Middle Ages
Call Number: Ref. R135 .Y67 2012

See: Medieval & Renaissance Resources in the CSS Reference Collection

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: Ref. G63 .w67 2012
5 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Ref. GN333 .W67 2009
5 volumes.
The Byzantine Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DF504.5 .B98 2019
2 volumes.
The Holy Roman Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DD125.L67 2019
2 volumes.
Europe, 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Call Number: Ref. D209 .E97 2004
6 volumes.
Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
5 volumes. 2006.
Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
Call Number: Ref. D299 .E735 2006
5 volumes.
Historical Dictionary of Stuart England, 1603-1689
Call Number: Ref. DA375 .H57 1996
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era
Call Number: Ref. DA550 .E527 2004
4 volumes.
Britain in the Hanoverian Age, 1714-1837: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA480 .B75 1997
Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA550 .V53 1988
The British Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA16 .B693 2018
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Irish History & Culture
Call Number: Ref. DA912 .E53 2004
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary British Culture
1999.
Celtic Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. D70 .C45x 2006
5 volumes. Celtic culture, from pre-history to the present.
Encyclopedia of European Social History
6 volumes. 2001.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
1998.
Historical Dictionary of Germany's Wiemar Republic
Call Number: Ref. DD84 .V56 1997
A Companion to Nazi Germany
2018.
Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990
Call Number: Ref. DD14 .M64 1998
2 volumes.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia
2001.
The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies
Call Number: Ref. D804.3 .O94 2010
Fifty Key Thinkers on the Holocaust and Genocide
Call Number: Ref. D804.3 .B3636 2010
Reference Guide to Holocaust Literature
Call Number: Ref. PN56.H55 R43 2002
Eastern Europe: An Introduction to the People, Lands, and Cultures
Call Number: Ref. DJK9 .E25 2005
3 volumes.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Soviet Union
Call Number: Ref. DK14 .C35 1982
Encyclopedia of Russian History
Call Number: Ref. DK14.E53 2004
4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian Culture
Call Number: Ref. DK510.32 .E53x 2007
Encyclopedia of Rusyn History and Culture
2002.
The History of the Baltic States, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. DK502.7 .O2 2015
The Spanish Empire: An Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. JV4011 .S63 2016
2 volumes.
Modern Spain: Understanding Modern Nations
Call Number: Ref. DP43.2 A95 2016

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. DS43 .E53 2004
4 volumes.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Call Number: Ref. DT2 .N48 2008
5 volumes.
Africana: The Encyclopedia of Africa & African American Experience
Call Number: Ref. DT14 .A37435 2005
5 volumes.
African Kingdoms: An Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations
Call Number: Ref. DT25 .A646 2017
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara
Call Number: Ref. DT351 .E53 1997
4 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: Ref. G63 .w67 2012
5 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Ref. GN333 .W67 2009
5 volumes.
Encyclopedia of African History
2005.
Encyclopedia of South Africa
2011.
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture
Call Number: Ref. DT16.5 .E53 2008
3 volumes.
Africa's Peacemakers
2014.
Africa: War and Conflict in the Twentieth Century
2018.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
Call Number: Ref. DS35.53 .O95 1995
4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. DS43 .E53 2004
4 volumes.
The Middle East: A Guide to Politics, Economics, Society, and Culture
Call Number: Ref. DS44 .M497 2012
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel
Call Number: Ref. DS149 .E597
2 volumes.
Saudi Arabia and the Gulf Arab States Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Arab States
Call Number: Ref. DS202.2 S28 2009
2 volumes.
Iran Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Islamic Republic
Call Number: Ref. DS253 .I69 2008
2 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: Ref. G63 .w67 2012
5 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Ref. GN333 .W67 2009
5 volumes.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Call Number: Ref. DS102.8 .E496 1973
16 volumes.
Encyclopedia Judaica, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. DS102.8 .E496 2007
22 volumes.
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life and Thought
1996.
Antisemitism: A Historical Encyclopedia of Prejudice and Persecution
Call Number: Ref. DS146 .E8 A58
2 volumes.
The Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict: A Political, Social, and Military History
Call Number: Ref. DS119.7 .E5653 2008
4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
3 volumes. 2012.
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians, 3rd edition
2017.
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians
Call Number: Ref. DS113.6 .E53 2000
The Ottoman Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DR485 .K54 2017
2 volumes.

SAGE Handbook of Asian Foreign Policy
2020.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Call Number: Ref. DS4 .L48 2002
6 volumes.
Conflict in Afghanistan: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DS351 .C54 2003
Encyclopedia of India
Call Number: Ref. DS405 .E556 2006
4 volumes.
India Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
Call Number: Ref. DS428.2 I535 2011
2 volumes.
The Encyclopedia of the Indian Diaspora
Call Number: Ref. DS432.5 .E53 2006
Cambridge Encyclopedia of China
Call Number: Ref. DS705 .C35 1991
Organized topically. See outline at the beginning.
Encyclopedia of Modern China
Call Number: Ref. DS755 .E63 2009
4 volumes.
China Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the People's Republic
Call Number: Ref. DS777.6 .C458 2005
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture
Call Number: Ref. DS779.23 .E53x 2005
Encyclopedia of Chinese-American Relations
2009.
Encyclopedia of Japan
Call Number: Ref. DS805 .P47 1990
Japan
Call Number: Ref. DS821 .E52127 2009
The Koreas
Call Number: Ref. DS904 .K66
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: Ref. G63 .w67 2012
5 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Ref. GN333 .W67 2009
5 volumes.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of MesoAmerican Cultures
Call Number: Ref. F1218.6 O95 2001
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Maya
Call Number: Ref. F1435 .E65 2016
The Aztecs: Lost Civilizations
2021.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: Ref. G63 .w67 2012
5 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Ref. GN333 .W67 2009
5 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Pre-Colonial Latin America (Prehistory to 1550s)
2017.
Encyclopedia of Colonial Latin America (1550s to 1820s)
2017.
Encyclopedia of Early Modern Latin America (1820s to 1900)
2017.
Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present)
2017.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
Call Number: Ref. F1406 .C36 1985
Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. F1406 .E53 2008
6 volulmes.
Brazil Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
Call Number: Ref. F2504 .B73 2012
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History, Culture
Call Number: Ref. F1754 .E53 2003
2 volumes.
Cuba
2012. 2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Cuban-United States Relations
2010.
Modern Mexico
Call Number: Ref. F1216.5.H83 2018
Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
2004.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society, Culture
Call Number: Ref. F1210 .E63 1997
2 volumes.
Puerto Rico: Past and Present, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. F1954 .F47 2015
Canadian Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. AG5 .C27 1985
3 volumes.