CSSLibraryGuides: Subject Encyclopedias @ The College of St. Scholastica Library: GOVERNMENT & HUMAN RIGHTS

American Governance.
4 volumes. 2018.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
Call Number: Ref. E183 .P85 2010
2 volumes.
A History of the U.S. Political System: Ideas, Interests, and Institutions
Call Number: Ref. JK31 .H57 2010
3 volumes.
American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. JC573.2 .U6 A43 2006
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections, 2nd edition
2014.
The Encyclopedia of the Republican Party
Call Number: Ref. JK2352 .E56 1997
2 volumes (1-2).
The Encyclopedia of the Democratic Party
Call Number: Ref. JK2352 .E56 1997
2 volumes (3-4).
Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions .
2009.
The Oxford Handbook of the Radical Right
Call Number: Ref. HN49.R33 O94 2018
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, 3rd edition
2017.
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
Call Number: Ref. JK511 .E53 1998
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Presidency: A Historical Reference
Call Number: Ref. JK517 .E53 2013
6 volumes.
CQ Press Guide to the Presidency, 4th edition
Call Number: Ref. JK516 .G83 2008
2 volumes.
Presidential Libraries and Museums
Call Number: Ref. CD3029.82 N37 2018
Opinions Throughout History: Presidential Authority
2020.
The American Vice Presidency: From Irrelevance to Power
Call Number: Ref. E176.49 .W58 2014
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet, 3rd edition
2019.
The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress
Call Number: Ref. JK1067 .E63 1995
4 volumes.
CQ Press Guide to Congress, 6th edition
Call Number: Ref. JK1021 .C565 2008
2 volumes.
Major Acts of Congress
Call Number: Ref. KF154 .M35 2004
3 volumes.
The U.S. Justice System: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. KF8700.A68 U27 2012
2 volumes.
American Political Leaders, 2nd edition
2018.
A Biographical Encyclopedia of American Politicians Who Switched Parties : A History of the Crises That Changed Loyalties
2011.
The Encyclopedia of The Continental Congresses
2015.
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census: From the Constitution to the American Community Survey (ACS), 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. HA37.U55 E53 2012
CQ Press Guide to U.S. Elections, 6th edition
Call Number: JK1967 .C662 2010
2 volumes. Ref.
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress, 5th edition
Call Number: Ref. JK1021 .C565 2000
2 volumes.
Political Corruption in America: An Encyclopedia of Scandals, Power, and Greed
Call Number: Ref. JK2249 .G767 2003
U.S. Social Security: A Reference Handbook 2008.
2008.
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics
2008. 2 volumes.
Women in the American Political System: An Encyclopedia of Women as Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders
Call Number: Ref. HQ1236.5.U6 W664 2019
2 volumes.
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women, 4th edition
2019.

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. KF4548 .E53 2000
6 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2010
Call Number: Ref. KF4557 .V555 2010
2 volumes.
Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning, 2nd edition
2008. 3 volumes.
Constitutional Amendments
2016.
American Constitutional Law: The Structure of Government
2013.
American Constitutional Law: The Bill of Rights and Subsequent Amendments
2013.
Contemporary Supreme Court Cases: Landmark Decisions Since Roe vs. Wade
Call Number: Ref. KF4550.Z9 L58 2016
2 volumes.
Supreme Court Justices: A Biographical Dictionary, 2nd edition
2015.
Biographical encyclopedia of the Supreme Court: The Lives and Legal Philosophies of the Justices
Call Number: KF8744 .B56 2006
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment
Call Number: Ref. KF4770 .E53 2009
2 volumes.
First Amendment Rights: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. KF4770 .L56 2013
2 volumes.
The Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights
2016.
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. HV7436 .G8783 2012
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights
2011.
Opinions Throughout History: Guns in America
2020.
Encyclopedia of the Fourth Amendment
Call Number: Ref. KF9630.A68 E53 2013
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Privacy
Call Number: Ref. JC596.2.U5 E53 2007
2 volumes.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Freedom of the Press
2017.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Freedom of Speech, Assembly, and Expression
2017.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Freedom of Religion
2021.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases: Abortion
2021.
Opinions Throughout History: Voters' Rights
2019.

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 4th edition
2022. 14 volumes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
2013. 2 volumes.
Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. K48 .L44 2002
4 volumes.
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Call Number: Ref. K50 .O96 2009
6 volumes. Ref. K50 .O96 2009
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd. edition
14 volumes. 2010. [Updates West's Encyclopedia of American Law].
Internet and the Law: Technology, Society, and Compromises
Call Number: Ref. KF390.5 .C6 S39 2006
Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education
Call Number: Ref. KF4225 .A68 E53 2010
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior and the Law
2006.
Consumer Survival: An Encyclopedia of Consumer Rights, Safety, and Protection
Call Number: Ref. KF1607.5 .C66 2014
2 volumes. 2014
The Internet and the Law: Technology, Society, and Compromises
Call Number: Ref. KF390.5.C6 S358 2014
Watchdogs and Whistleblowers: A Reference Guide to Consumer Activisim
Call Number: Ref. HC110.C63 W38 2015
Surveillance in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and the Law
Call Number: Ref. KF5399 .S87 2016
2 volumes.
Supreme Court Justices: A Biographical Dictionary, 2nd edition
2015.
Great American Court Cases
1999.
Ashgate Research Companion to Islamic Law
2014.

Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities
2006. 4 volumes.
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures
Call Number: Ref. JF511 .W67 1998
2 volumes.
A Concise Encyclopedia of the United Nations, 2nd revised edition
2010.
Great Debates at the United Nations: An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues, 1945 -2000
Call Number: Ref. KZ4968 G47 2001
Ref. KZ4968 G47 2001
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
Call Number: Ref. KZ4968 .O84 2003
International Law and the Use of Force: A Documentary and Reference Guide
Call Number: Ref. KZ6368 .S38 2010
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
Call Number: Ref. JZ5533 .O95 2010
4 volumes.
Women and Politics Around the World: A Comparative History and Survey
Call Number: Ref. HQ1236 .W5876 2009
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the European Union
Call Number: Ref. JN30 .E52 1998
Encycopedia of Transnational Justice
Call Number: Ref. K5250 .E53 2013
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
2008.

Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Call Number: Ref. JC571 .E673 2009
5 volumes.
The Human Rights Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. JC571 .L523 2001
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States, 3rd edition
2 volumes. 2017.
An Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States
Call Number: Ref. KF4747.5 .C37 2011
2 volumes.
Civil Disobedience: An Encyclopedic History of Dissidence in the United States
Call Number: Ref. JC328.3 .S64 2009
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Call Number: Ref. HM671 .E53 2007
3 volumes.
Human Trafficking: A Reference Handbook
Call Number: Ref. HQ281 .A76 2017
The World of Child Labor: An Historical and Regional Survey
Call Number: Ref. HD6231 .W67 2009
Feminism and Women's Rights Worldwide
Call Number: Ref. HQ1180 .F424 2010
3 volumes.
Women's Rights in the United States: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Issues, Events, and People
Call Number: Ref. HQ1236.5.U6 W677 2015
4 volumes.
Women's Rights in the Middle East and North Africa: Progress Amid Resistance
Call Number: Ref. HQ1236.5 .M653 W663
International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage
Call Number: Ref. JF851 .H28 2000
Female Genital Mutilation: A Guide to Laws and Policies Worldwide
Call Number: Ref. K5304 .F46 2000
American Dissidents: An Encyclopedia of Activists, Subversives, and Prisoners of Conscience
Call Number: Ref. E747 .A678 2012
2 volumes.
The Handbook of Reparations
Call Number: Ref. JC578 .H386 2006
Modern Genocide: The Definitive Resource and Document Collection
Call Number: Ref. HV6322.7 .M63 2015
4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
Publication Date: 2004-10-29
3 volumes. 2005.
Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes
Call Number: Ref. HV6322.7 .A87 2013
2 volumes.
A Biographical Encyclopedia of Contemporary Genocide: Portraits of Good and Evil
Call Number: Ref. HV6322.7 .B373 2012
The Armenian Genocide: The Essential Reference Guide
Call Number: Ref. DS195.5 .A7393 2015
Africa's Peacemakers
2014.

The SAGE Handbook of Political Science
3 volumes. 2020.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought
Call Number: Ref. JC49 .P75 2013
Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought
Call Number: Ref. JA61 .B67 1987
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Call Number: Ref. JA61 .O95 1993
Oxford Companion to International Relations
2013.
The Encyclopedia of Political Science
Call Number: Ref. JA61 .E513 2011
5 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Power
2011.
The Palgrave International Handbook of Peace Studies: A Cultural Perspective
Call Number: Ref. JZ5538 .P358 2011
The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism
Call Number: Ref. JC585 .E53 2008
Historical Dictionary of Socialsim, 3rd edition
Call Number: Ref. HX17 .D63 2016
Historical Dictionary of Marxism
Call Number: Ref. HX17 .W36 2014
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
3 volumes. 2007.
Colonialism: An International Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. JV22 .C65 2003
3 volumes.
The Rise of Facism: History, Documents, and Key Questions
Call Number: Ref. JC481 .Z36 2016
World Fascism: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. JC481 .W67 2006
2 volumes.
American Dissidents: An Encyclopedia of Activists, Subversives, and Prisoners of Conscience
Call Number: Ref. E747 .A678 2012
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Fundamental Themes
2001. Volume 1.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Leaders, Movements, and Concepts
2001. Volume 2.
The Encyclopedia of Public Choice
2004.
Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present
Call Number: Ref. JV6012 .I56 2005
3 volumes.
Dirty Deals? An Encyclopedia of Lobbying, Political Influence, and Corruption
Call Number: Ref. JK118 .D64 2014
3 volumes. 2014.
Encyclopedia of Populism in America: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. JC423 .E544 2014
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Call Number: Ref. JA85.2.U6 E52 2014
3 volumes.
Talking Conflict: the Loaded Language of Genocide, Political Violence, Terrorism, and Warfare
Call Number: Ref. U24 .W57 2017
Tweeting to Freedom: An Encyclopedia of Citizen Protests and Uprisings Around the World
Call Number: Ref. HM741 .W55 2017
The Oxford Handbook of Polling and Survey Methods
Call Number: Ref. HM1236 .O945 2018
Routledge Handbook of Environmental Conflict and Peacebuilding
Call Number: Ref. JZ1324 .R68 2018
The Routledge History of World Peace Since 1750
2019.
The Religious Right and American Politics, 4th edition
2019.
Rethinking the American Antinuclear Movement
2018.
Assassins' Deeds: A History of Assassination from Ancient Egypt to the Present Day
2020.
Political Assassins, Terrorists and Related Conspiracies in American History
2021.