CSSLibraryGuides: New Resources Available from the the Library Community: Home

Vendor Love

Stained glass from the CSS Library

Many vendors have stepped up to support libraries and learning through providing their resources online for free during this time. In addition, Click here for an expanded list of more vendors and their information.

Publishers

Cambridge University Press
They are making over 700 higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online until the end of May 2020 regardless of whether textbooks were previously purchased.
Duke University Press
They are providing 90 days of complimentary electronic access to course materials (which includes their Duke eBook Collection). Contact orders@dukeupress.edu for more information.
Pearson Publishing
If your class uses a Pearson product that is supported by an ebook through VitalSource or RedShelf, your students may be able to get immediate access at no charge.
Redshelf
In collaboration with the academic publishing community, RedShelf is providing students with free, convenient access to their eBooks.

Videos, Virtual Classroom, Distance Learning Tools and More

AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central
Distance learning toolkit and the AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central to help faculty, students, residents, and healthcare professionals continue teaching and learning online and get the latest information on the COVID-19 global pandemic.
HeinOnline Academic
This package features more than 100 million pages of content and covers more than 100 subject areas. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Unveil the history of America with the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, equipped with unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content.
JoVE
Free access to extensive STEM education video library to aid remote teaching & learning.
Library of Congress Open Access Books
"A growing online collection of contemporary open access eBooks from the Library of Congress website."
National Emergency Library
A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
News Literacy Project: Checkology Virtual Classroom
Continuing through the end of the 2019-20 school year, Checkology Premium will be available at no cost to any educator or parent seeking engaging resources to use for distance learning or homeschooling.
Online Resources for Science Laboratories
Google sheet with a list of labs with freely available links for STEM.
Pearson Resource Hub
Site populated with best practices and guidance to help you make a fast and strong move to online teaching and learning.
Video Project
Universities that have purchased a DVD w/ PPR license with them are offering most of their collection through streaming on Kanopy with a smaller selection also on Alexander Street.

Locating Open Educational Resource (OERS) & Other Resources with a Creative Commons License

Try these resources to locate OERs and items with a creative commons license. If you can't find what you are looking for or if you are looking for additional options, try searching for items that are in the Public Domain.

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
"Real-time federated search for OER content".
OASIS
"A search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier." Created by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
OER Commons
A public digital library of OERs.

Return to top of page

American Institute of Mathematics
A list of open textbooks in various subdisciplines of Mathematics approved by the AIM editorial board.
BC OpenEd
A collection of open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty.
Directory of Open Access Books: DOAB
All publishers are screened for peer review process and licensing policies.
FreeBooks4Doctors!
Free medical textbooks.
Lyryx Open Textbooks & Supplements
High-quality open textbooks in the fields of accounting, mathematics, and economics. NOTE: There are also optional added (paid) resources such as homework assignments, supplementary materials, and quizzes to accompany the open textbooks.
Open Access Books on JSTOR
More than than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.
Open Access on Muse
Scroll down the page for a list of open titles. Click on the link of a title of interest to learn more about the book, learn about the license information, and find the table of contents.
Open Book Publisher
A publisher from the UK offering open access to tons of books in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Open textbooks written and peer reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
Open Textbook Library
Created by the University of Minnesota.
OpenStax
An initiative from Rice University. Includes textbooks and learning modules developed by and peer reviewed by educators.
PDX Open
Textbooks and other resources created by the faculty of the University of Portland.
Wiki Books
Hosted by the Wikimedia Foundation. They offer over 3,000 textbooks, categorized by subject, completion status, and reading level. Example subject areas include computing, humanities, mathematics, science, and more!

Return to top of page

Try these resources to locate OERS and items with a creative commons license. If you can't find what you are looking for or if you are looking for additional options, try searching for items that are in the Public Domain.

Creative Commons Search Engine
Search 300+ million images in the public domain and with a Creative Commons license.
Flickr Creative Commons
Locate photos with a variety of Creative Commons licenses.
Photos for Class
Locate photos that are safe for education and teachers.
Wikimedia Commons
Images from Wikipedia that are in the public domain or have a creative commons license.

Questionable Images?

Unsure of where an image came from? Not sure if the image has a Creative Commons license? Try these reverse image search engines to find where the image was first published on the Internet!

TinEye
Reverse image search engine. Simply upload the image or input the URL to the image to conduct a search of the image across the internet.

Return to top of page

C-Span Video Library
Free videos on a wide variety of topics. Some are closed captioned.
Internet Archive - Stock Footage
Locate stock footage with a variety of license and in the public domain.
Moving Image Archive
Over a million free movies, films, and videos uploaded by users to Internet Archive. Many, but not all, of these videos are available for free download; check for the permissions information that is included in the video description to determine whether you'll need to contact the producer for permissions.
Ref Seek Educational Video Sites
A list of sites offering free videos for educational use. Some sites may require registration, but most are free.
Vimeo Creative Commons
Locate videos with a creative commons license.
YouTube University
Videos on a variety of topics!

Return to top of page

ccMixter
ccMixter features remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses.
Free Sound
Locate a variety of sounds licensed with a variety of Creative Commons licenses. There are also some in the public domain.

Return to top of page

Merlot
Collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by faculty and users around the world.
MIT Open Courseware
"The materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web."
OER Commons
A public digital library of open educational resources. Sort by subject and educational level.
Open Course Library
A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts, from Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges.
PhET Science Simulations
Interactive tools and simulations from the University of Colorado at Boulder are mostly CC licensed.
Saylor Academy
Online courses sponsored by the Saylor Foundation. Options include many courses and content that are peer-reviewed and offer open access online teaching materials.

Return to top of page

Locating Resources in the Public Domain

Try these resources to locate items that are in the Public Domain. If you can't find what you are looking for or if you are looking for additional options, try searching for items with a Creative Commons license.

Sonny Bono Memorial Collection
Because of a rare and often forgotten loophole in the Copyright law (Sect. 108(h)), items from 1923-1941 have been digitized and made freely available to the public.
Project Gutenberg
Over 60,000 free ebooks on a variety of topics!

Return to top of page

Every attempt has been made to make sure that all items are in the public domain. However, the CSS Library does not guarantee it. Be sure to review the license for items you use.

Gratisography
"The world's quirkiest collection of free high-resolution pictures, comprised of the world's best, most creative images - photos you just won't find anywhere else."
Pexels
Locate photos. They are all in the public domain, which means they are free to use even for commercial use. The license allows "for any legal purpose" with the restriction that "identifiable people may not appear in a bad light or in a way that they may find offensive". See the license for more information.
Pixabay
Locate photos, graphics, clip art, illustrations, and short videos clips.
Pixnio: Public Domain Images
Locate photos in the public domain
Pxhere
All pictures are released under Creative Commons CC0 into the public domain.
Unsplash
Locate high resolution photos. All are in the public domain, which means they can be used for any purpose - even commercial.

Return to top of page

Every attempt has been made to make sure that all items are in the public domain. However, the CSS Library does not guarantee it. Be sure to review the license for items you use.

Internet Archives - Moving Images
Provides near unrestricted access to films, videos, and movies. Many items here will be in the public domain, but be sure to check. Click on the title of the movie or video to find the license.
Pexels Video
Short video clips in the public domain. Only restriction is "identifiable people may not appear in a bad light or in a way that they may find offensive". See license for more information.
Vimeo Public Domain Channel
Videos on Vimeo that are in the public domain.

Return to top of page

Every attempt has been made to make sure that all items are in the public domain. However, the CSS Library does not guarantee it. Be sure to review the license for items you use.

Choral Public Domain Library
Part of the ChoralWiki. Provides access to public music and scores.
Digital History
From the University of Texas, the University of Houston, and the University of Hawaii. Provides access to historical music that their research indicates is in the public domain. May only be used for educational purposes.
Internet Archive - Audio Archive
Provides near unrestricted access to audio, music, sounds, radio broadcasts, audiobooks, podcasts, and more. Many items here will be in the public domain, but be sure to check. Click on the title to find the license.
MUSOPEN
Non-profit organization providing access to free recordings, sheet music, and more. All in the public domain.

Return to top of page

Feature Films for Online Classes

The Library has a block license for 25 feature films which faculty may use for their online classes this spring. Our arrangement is with Swank Motion Pictures which has a catalog of over 20,000 films. Please contact us if there is a particular film which you would like to make available to your students.

Databases and Periodicals

Bloomsbury Digital Resources
Digital resources for a wide range of the humanities.
COVID-19 Open Research Dataset
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 44,000 scholarly articles, including over 29,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.
eLibrary Minnesota
ELM is a collection of research and information databases to be used by Minnesota residents through their school, public, academic
Flu Epidemic of 1918 - Chronicling America
Between the spring of 1918 and the spring of 1919 a highly virulent and fatal influenza sweeps the country in three waves, killing the youngest and the strongest, devastating entire communities. The information in this guide focuses on primary source materials found in the digitized historic newspapers from the Library of Congress digital collection Chronicling America.
JSTOR - public health journals
Archive of 26 public health journals.
Kirkus Magazine
Looking for book reviews? The digital version of Kirkus Magazine is free until further notice.
Project Muse
They are offering open access books and journals from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
Paratext - U.S. Documents Masterfile
They are offering access to U.S. Documents Masterfile™ to all academic, public, and special libraries through June 2020. U.S. Documents Masterfile includes 15 million citations with 10 million links to foundational full text U.S. government publications. Many files are updated daily or weekly, alongside hard-to-find historical materials.
Publishers Weekly
The digital edition of Publishers Weekly magazine will be free until further notice.
Smithsonian Open Access
For the first time in its 174-year history, the Smithsonian has released 2.8 million high-resolution two- and three-dimensional images from across its collections onto an open access online platform for patrons to peruse and download free of charge. Featuring data and material from all 19 Smithsonian museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives and the National Zoo, the new digital depot encourages the public to not just view its contents, but use, reuse and transform them into just about anything they choose—be it a postcard, a beer koozie or a pair of bootie shorts.