SWK ROBUST Specialization: Home

Bio-psycho-sociocultural-spiritual Assessment

Anandarajah, G., & Hight, E. (2001). Spirituality and medical practice: Using the HOPE questions as a practical tool for spiritual assessment. American Family Physician, 63(1), 81.

Bliss, D.L., & Pecukonis, E. (2009). Screening and brief intervention practice model for social workers in non-substance-abuse practice settings. Journal of Social Work Practice in the Addictions, 9(1), 21-40.

Carrio, F., Suchman, A.L., Espstein, R.M. (2004). The Biopsychosocial Model 25 Years Later: Principles, Practice and Scientific Inquiry. Annals of Family Medicine, 2, 576-582.

Cummings, N., O’Donohue, W., Hayes S. C., & Follette, V. (Eds.) (2001). Integrated Behavioral Healthcare: Positioning Mental Health Practice with Medical/Surgical Practice. Academic Press: American Psychological Association. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Goldberg, M. (1998). The Art of the Question: A Guide to Short-Term Question-Centered Therapy. New York: John Wiley & Sons. Pp 3-55. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Haidet, P. & Paterniti, D. (2003). “Building” a History rather than “Taking” One A Perspective on Information Sharing During the Medical Interview. Archives of Internal Medicine, 163, 1134-1140.

Hodge, D. R. (2001a). Spiritual assessment: A review of major qualitative methods and a new framework for assessing spirituality. Social Work, 46, 203–15.

Hodge, D. R. (2001b). Spiritual genograms: A generational approach to assessing spirituality. Families in Society, 82 (1), 35.

Hodge, D. R. (2005a). Spiritual ecograms: A new assessment instrument for identifying clients’ strengths in space and across time. Families in Society, 86 (2), 287–97

Hodge, D. R. (2005b). Spiritual lifemaps: A client-centered pictorial instrument for spiritual assessment, planning, and intervention. Social Work, 50 (1), 77–88.

Leung, P. P. Y., and Chan, C. L. W. ( 2006). The combined use of narrative and experience-near techniques in an investigation of meaning in women with breast cancer. Psycho-Oncology, 15 (1), S5. Note: Scroll to p. 5 for this abstract.

Mauer, B., & Druss, B. (2010). Mind and body reunited: Improving care at the behavioral and primary healthcare interface. The Journal of Behavioral Health Services & Research, 37(4), 529-542.

Rosen, C. S., Drescher, K. D., Moos, R. H., Finney, J. W., Murphy, R. T., & Gusman, F. (2000). Six and Ten Item Indices of Psychological Distress Based on the Symptom Checklist-90. Assessment, 2000, Vol. 7 (2), 103-111.

Smith, P. C., Schmidt, S. M., Allensworth-Davies, D., Saitz, R. (2010). A Single-Question Screening Test for Drug Use in Primary Care. Arch Intern Med, 170(13),1155-1160.

Steger, M. F., Frazier, P., Oishi, S., & Kaler, M. (2006). The Meaning in Life Questionnaire: Assessing the presence of and search for meaning in life. Journal of Counseling Psychology, 53(1), 80-93.

Strengths-based Assessment

Aspinwall, L. (2003). Toward a positive psychology: Social Development and cultural contributions. A Psychology of human strengths: fundamental questions and future directions for a positive psychology. American Psychological Association: Washington DC.  [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Biswas-Diener, R. (2006). From the Equator to the North Pole: A Study of Character Strengths. Journal of Happiness Studies. Vol. 7. pp 293-310.

Cheavens, J.S., Feldman, D.B., Woodward, J.T., & Snyder, C.R. (2006). Hope in Cognitive Psychotherapies: On Working with Client Strengths. Journal of Cognitive Psychotherapy, 20(2), 135-145.[Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Gutierrez, L.M., Parsons, R.J. & Cox, E.O. (Eds.)(1998). Empowerment in social work practice: A sourcebook. Pacific Grove, CA: Brooks/Cole. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

McQuaide, S. & Ehrenreich, J.H. (1997). Assessing client strengths. Families in Society, March/April, 201-212.

Rapp, C.A. (1998). The strengths model: Case management with people suffering from severe and persistent mental illness. New York: Oxford University Press. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Saleebey, D. (2008). The strengths perspective in social work practice, 5th ed. New Jersey: Allyn & Bacon.  [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.].

Wierzbicka, A. (2009). What Makes a Good Life? A Cross-linguistic and Cross Cultural Perspective. The Journal of Positive Psychology, July, Vol. 4(4). pp 260-272. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Van Wormer, K., & Davis, D. R. (2008). Addiction treatment: A strengths perspective, 2nd edition. Belmont, CA: Thomson/Brooks Cole. Chapter 5—Assessment of Alcohol and Other Drug Use (pp. 207-213). [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Assessing Client Self-management Skills

Hibbard, J. H., Stockard, J., Mahoney, E. R., & Tusler, M. (2004). Development of the Patient Activation Measure (PAM): Conceptualizing and measuring Activation in patients and consumers. Health Service Research, 39 (4), 1005-1026.

Hibbard, J. H., Mahoney, E. R., Stockard, J., & Tusler, M. (2005). Development and testing of a Short Form of the Patient Activation Measure. Health Service Research, 40 (6), 1918-1930.

Krisstjansson, E., Tugwell, P. S., Wilson, A. J., Brooks, P. M., Driedger, S. M., Gallois, C., O’Connor, A. M., Qualman, A., Santesso, N., Wale, J., & Wells, G. A. (2007). Development of the Effective Musculoskeletal Consumer Scale. Journal of Rhenumatology, 34 (6), 1392-1400.

Useful websites

NIDA Quick Screen: Clinician’s Screening Tool for Drug Use in General Medical Settings. Retrieved from http://www.drugabuse.gov/nmassist/ 

NIDA Research Report Series, Dec. 2008. Comorbidity: Addiction and other mental illnesses. Retrieved from http://www.drugabuse.gov/PDF/RRComorbidity.pdf 

Brownson, R.C., Remington, P.L., & Davis J.R., (Eds.). (1998). Chronic Disease Epidemiology and Control 2nd ed. Washington, DC: American Public Health Association. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2001). 2011 National Diabetes Fact Sheet. Atlanta, GA: Author. Retrieved from http://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/pubs/pdf/ndfs_2011.pdf

Druss, B. G., & Reisinger-Walker, E. (2011). Medical disorders and medical comorbidity. Retrieved from https://www.integration.samhsa.gov/workforce/mental_disorders_and_medical_comorbidity.pdf

Feldman, M.D., & Christensen, J.F. (2008). Behavioral Medicine: A Guide for Clinical Practice. (3rd Ed.). New York: McGraw Hill. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Glasgow, R.E., Funnell, M.M., Bonomi, A.E., Davis, C., Beckham, V., & Wagner, E.H. (2002). Self-management aspects of the improving chronic illness care breakthrough series: Implementation with diabetes and heart failure teams. Annals of Behavioral Medicine, 24, 80-87.

Goldstein, M.G., Whitlock, E.P., & DePue, J. (2004). Multiple behavioral risk factor interventions in primary care: Summary of the research evidence. American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 27 (Suppl. 2), 61-79.

Kessler, R.C., Demler, O., Frank, R.G., Olfson, M., Pincus, H.A., Walters, E.E., Wang, P., Wells, K.B., & Zaslavsky, A.M. (2005). Prevalence and treatment of mental disorders, 1990-2003. N Engl J Med, 352(24):2515-23.

Kroenke, K. & Mangelsdorff, A. D. (1989). Common symptoms in ambulatory care: Incidence, evaluation, therapy and outcome. American Journal of Medicine, 86, 262-266. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Murray, C.J.L. & Lopez A.D. (Eds.) (1996). The global burden of disease: A comprehensive assessment of mortality and disability for diseases, injuries, and risk factors in 1990 and projected to 2020: Vol. 1 of Global Burden of Disease and Injury Series. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press. Retreived from http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/41864/1/0965546608_eng.pdf

National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey: 2009 Summary Tables. National Center for Health Statistics. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, GA. Retreived from https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/ahcd/namcs_summary/2009_namcs_web_tables.pdf.

Reeves, M.J., & Rafferty, A.P. (2005). Healthy lifestyle characteristics among adults in the United States, 2000. Arch Intern Med, 165(8), 854-7.

Regier, D.A., Narrow, W.E., Rae, D.S., Manderscheid, R.W., Locke, B.Z., & Goodwin, F.K. (1993). The de facto US mental and addictive disorders service system: Epidemiologic catchment area prospective 1-year prevalence rates of disorders and services. Arch Gen Psychiatry, 50(2), 85-94. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

United States Public Health Service. Mental Health: A Report of the Surgeon General. (1999). Washington, DC: Center for Mental Health Services. National Institute of Mental Health. Retreived from https://profiles.nlm.nih.gov/ps/access/NNBBHS.pdf

World Health Organization. (2005). Preventing Chronic Diseases - A Vital Investment. Retrieved from http://www.who.int/chp/chronic_disease_report/en/ 

Whitlock, E.P., Polen, M.R., Green, C.A., Orleans, C.T., & Klein, J. (2004). Behavioral counseling interventions in primary care to reduce risky harmful alcohol use by adults: A summary of the evidence for the U.S. preventive services task force. Annals of Internal Medicine, 140, 558-569.

Whitlock, E.P., Orleans, C.T., Pender, N., & Allen, J. (2002). Evaluating primary care behavioral counseling interventions: An evidence based approach. American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 22, 267-284.

Useful Web Sites

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Academy for Integrating Behavioral Health and Primary Care: http://integrationacademy.ahrq.gov/ 

California Mental Health Services Authority: http://calmhsa.org/ 

 Integrated Primary Care: http://www.integratedprimarycare.com/ 

 American Diabetes Association: http://www.diabetes.org/

Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. Measuring the impact of interprofessional education on collaborative practice and patient outcomes. National Academies Press. Retrieved from https://education.acaai.org/system/files/IOM_interprofessional_education.pdf

Madras, B. K., Compton, W. M., Avula, D. et al., (2009). Screening, brief interventions, referral to treatment (SBIRT) for illicit drug and alcohol use at multiple healthcare sites: Comparison at intake and six months later. Drug and Alcohol Dependence, 99, 280-295.

Mauer, B. J. (April 2009). Behavioral health/primary care integration and the person-centered healthcare home. Washington, DC: National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare. Retrieved from http://www.allhealth.org/BriefingMaterials/BehavioralHealthandPrimaryCareIntegrationandthePerson-CenteredHealthcareHome-1547.pdf

Mauer, B., & Druss, B. (2010). Mind and body reunited: Improving care at the behavioral and primary healthcare interface. The Journal of Behavioral Health Services & Research, 37(4), 529-542.

Park, J. & Pollack, D., Bartels, S., & Mauer, B. (January 2005). Integrating Behavioral Health and Primary Care Services: Opportunities and Challenges for State Mental Health Authorities. Alexandria, VA: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, Medical Directors Council. (Four Quadrant Model/Care Model)

Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. (2015). Psychosocial interventions for mental and substance use disorders: A framework for establishing evidence based standards. Retrieved from https://www.integration.samhsa.gov/news/Psychosocial_Interventions_for_Mental_and_Substance_Use.pdf

SAMHSA. (2014). Leading change 2.0: Advancing the behavioral health of the nation. Retrieved from https://store.samhsa.gov/shin/content/PEP14-LEADCHANGE2/PEP14-LEADCHANGE2.pdf

National Council for Behavioral Health. (2018).Trauma-informed primary care: Fostering resilience and recovery. Retrieved from https://www.thenationalcouncil.org/consulting-areas-of-expertise/trauma-informed-primary-care/

Evidence Supported Treatments

Solution-Focused Approach to Health/Mental Health Treatment

Knekt, P., Lindfors, O., Härkänen, T., Välikoski, M., Virtala, E., Laaksonen, M.A. et al. (2008). Randomized trial on the effectiveness of long-and short-term psychodynamic psychotherapy and solution-focused therapy on psychiatric symptoms during a 3-year follow-up. Psychological Medicine, 38, 689-703.

Schade, N., Torres, P., & Beyebach, M. (2011). Cost-efficiency of a brief family intervention for somatoform patients in primary care. Families, Systems, & Health, 29(3), 197-205.

Smock, S. A., Trepper, T. S., Wetchler, J. L., McCollum, E. E., Ray, R., & Pierce, K. (2008) Solution-focused group therapy for level 1 substance abusers. Journal of Marital and Family Therapy 34(1), 107–120.

Vogelaar, L., van’t Spijker, A., Vogelaar, T, van Busschbach, J. J., Visser, M. S., Kuipers, E. J., van der Woude, C. J. (2011). Solution focused therapy: A promising new tool in the management of fatigue in Crohn's disease patients: Psychological interventions for the management of fatigue in Crohn's disease. Journal of Crohn’s and Colitis. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Solution-Focused Brief Therapy Association: http://www.sfbta.org

Overview

Coulter, I. & Willis, E. (2007). Explaining the growth of complementary and alternative medicine. Health Sociology Review, 16 (3-4), 214-225.

Gant, L. M., Benn, R., Gioia, D., & Seabury, B. (2009). Incorporating integrative health services in social work education. Journal of Social Work Education, 45(3), 405-425.

Wootton, J.C. & Sparber, A. (2001). Surveys of Complementary and Alternative Medicine: Part I. General trends and Demographic Groups. The Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, 7(2), 195-208.

Kessler, R.C., Davis, R.B., Foster, D.F., Rompay, V.I., Walters, E.E., Wilkey, S.,Kaptchuck, T.J., Eisenberg, D.M. (2001). Long-Term Trends in the use of complementary and alternative medical therapies in the United States. Annals of Internal Medicine, 135(4), 262-268.

 Foster, D.F., Phillips, R.S., Hamel, M.B., Eisenberg, D.M. (2000). Alternative Medicine Use in Older Americans. Journal of American Geriatrics Society, 48(12). Dec.

 Ellinoy, B.J., Lake, J., & Hobbs, C. (2007). Patient Safety. In J. Lake, & D. Spiegel (Eds.), Complementary and Alternative Treatments in Mental Health Care (pp 37-63). American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc. Arlington, VA. Retreived from https://www.scribd.com/document/257649733/Complementary-And-Alternative-Treatments-in-Mental-Health-Care-pdf

Finger, W., Arnold, E.M. (2002). Mind-Body Interventions: Applications for Social Work Practice. Social Work in Health Care, 35(4),57-78.

Promoting Wellness and Health

Schueller, S.M. (2009). Promoting Wellness: Integrating Community and Positive Psychology. Journal of Community Psychology, 37(7), 922-937.

 Lawson, G., Venart, E., Hazler, R.J., & Kottler, J.A. (2007). Toward a culture of counselor wellness. Journal of Humanistic Counseling, Education & Development, 46, 5-19.

Myers, J.E., Sweeney, T.J., &Witmer, J.M. (2000). The wheel of wellness counseling for wellness: A holistic model for treatment planning. Journal of Counseling and Development, 78, 251-266.

National Wellness Institute (n.d.). Defining wellness. Retrieved from http://www.nationalwellness.org/index.php?id_tier=2&id_c=26 Broken link

Newsome, S., Chambers Christopher, J., Dahlen, P., & Christopher, S. (2006). Teaching counselors self-care through mindfulness practices. Teachers College Record, 108(9), 1881-1900. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Poulin, P.A. (2008). Mindfulness training as an evidenced-based approach to reducing stress and promoting well being among human services professionals. International Journal of Health Promotion and Education 46 (2) 72-80.

Krasner M., S, Epstein R., M, Beckman H. Suchman A., L, Chapman B. Mooney C., J, Quill, T.E. (2009). Association of an educational program in mindful communication with burnout, empathy, and attitudes among primary care physicians. JAMA. Sep 23; 302(12): 1284-93.

Yearwood, E., & Riley, J.B. (2010). Curriculum infusion to promote nursing student well-being. Journal of Advanced Nursing, 66(6), 1356-1364.

Spirituality

Abels, S. L. (Ed.). (2000). Spirituality in social work practice: Narratives for professional helping. Denver, CO: Love Publishing. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Bullis, R. K. (1996). Spirituality in social work practice. Washington, DC: Taylor & Francis. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Canda, E. R. & Furman, L. D. (2010). Spiritual diversity in social work practice: The heart of helping. NY: Oxford University Press.

Van Hook, M., Hugen, B., and Aguilar, M. (Eds.). (2001). Spirituality within religious traditions in social work practice. Pacific Grove, CA: Brooks/Cole. [CSS Print Collection: HV530 .S69 2001]

Evidence-informed CAM and Body-Mind-Spirit Practices for Diverse Health and Mental Health Problems

Chan, Tso & Ho, et al. (2006). Short communication: the effect of a one-hour Eastern stress management session on salivary cortisol, Stress and Health, 22, 45-49.

Beckman H, Regier N, Young J. (2007). Effect of workplace laughter groups on personal efficacy beliefs. Journal of Primary Prevention, 28(2), 167-82.

Follette, V. M., Palm, K.M., & Pearson, A. N. (2006) Mindfulness and trauma: implications for treatment. Journal of Rational-Emotive & Cognitive-Behavior Therapy 24, 45-61. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Kabat-Zinn, J., Lipworth, L., &Burney, R. (1985). The clinical use of mindfulness meditation for the self-regulation of chronic pain, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, 8, 162–90. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Kabat-Zinn, J., Massion, A. O., Kristeller, J., Peterson, L. G., Fletcher, K. E., Pbert, L., et al. (1992). Effectiveness of a meditation-based stress reduction program in the treatment of anxiety disorders. American Journal of Psychiatry, 149, 936-943.

Lee, M. Y., Zaharlick, A., & Akers, D. (2011). Meditation and Treatment of Female Trauma Survivors of Interpersonal Abuses: Utilizing Clients’ Strengths. Families in Society, 92(1), 41-49.

Liehr, P. & Diaz, N. (2010). A pilot study examining the effect of mindfulness on depression and anxiety for minority children. Archives of Psychiatric Nursing, 24(1), 69-71.

Linehan, M. M. (1993). Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Borderline Personality Disorder. New York: Guilford Press.[CSS Print Collection: RC569.5.B67 L56 1993]

Liu, C. J., Hsiung, P. C., Chang, K.J., et al. (2008). A Study on the Efficacy of Body–Mind–Spirit Group Therapy for Patients with Breast Cancer. J. Clin. Nurs. 17: 2539-2549. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Mehta, P. & Sharma, M. (2010). Yoga as a complementary therapy for clinical depression. Complementary Health Practice Review, 15(3), 156-169.

Melancon, B., & Miller, L.H. (2005). Massage therapy versus traditional therapy for low back pain relief. Holistic Nursing Practice, May/June, 116-121.

Napoli, M. (2011). Tools for mindful living: Stepping stones for practice and CD. Dubuque, IA: Kendall Hunt Publishing Company. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Singh, N. N., Singh, A. N., Lancioni, G. E., Singh, J., Winton, A. S. W., & Adkins, A. D. (2010). Mindfulness training for parents and their children with ADHD increases the children’s compliance. Journal of Child and Family Studies, 19(2), 157-166.

Schmidt, S. (2004). Mindfulness and healing intention: Concepts, practice, and research evaluation. Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, 10, S7–S14.

Targ, E. F. & Levine, E. G. (2002). The efficacy of a mind-body-spirit group for women with breast cancer: a randomized controlled trial. Gen. Hosp. Psychiatry, 24, 238-248.

Teasdale, J. D., Segal, Z. V., Williams, J. M. G., Ridgeway, V. A., Soulsby, J. M., & Lau, M. A. (2000). Prevention of relapse/recurrence in major depression by mindfulness-based cognitive therapy. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 68, 615-625.  

Thomas, K.J., MacPherson, H., Thorpe, L., Brazier, J., Fitter, M., Campbell, M.J., Roman, M., Walters, S.J., & Nicholl, J. (2006). Randomised controlled trial of a short course of traditional acupuncture compared with usual care for persistent non-specific low back pain. British Medical Journal, 333, 626-632.

Uebelacker, L. A., Epstein-Lubow, G., Gaudiano, B. A., Tremont, G., Battle, C. L., & Miller, I. W. (2010). Hatha yoga for depression: Critical review of the evidence for efficacy, plausible mechanisms of action, and directions for future research, Journal of Psychiatric Practice, 16(1), 22-33. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Van der Kolk, B. A. (2002). The assessment and treatment of complex PTSD. In R. Yehuda (Ed.), Treating Trauma Survivors with PTSD (pp. 127-156). Washington, D C: American Psychiatric Press. [Not in CSS Collection. Please request through Interlibrary Loan.]

Wein, H. (2000, October). Stress and disease: New perspectives. The NIH Word on Health. National Institutes of Health. Retrieved from https://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=60918

Witkiewitz, K., Marlatt, G. A., & Walker, D. (2005). Mindfulness-Based Relapse Prevention for Alcohol and Substance Use Disorders. Journal of Cognitive Psychotherapy: An International Quarterly, 19, 211-228.

Useful Web Sites

Healthy Coping With Stress - http://www.innerhealthstudio.com/coping-with-stress.html