Skip to main content

NSG 8323 - Quality Improvement: Online Reading List: Home

Online Reading List for NSG 8323. Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (same username and password as Cor, Blackboard, or your CSS email)

Note about Accessing Articles Listed in Online Reading List

Image of a blue and green earth with a computer mouse and cord over it.Most of the articles in this online reading list are coming from the CSS Library databases. When using the Library databases and accessing the articles from any of the Online Reading Lists, be sure to use one of these internet browsers - Mozilla, Chrome, or Safari (Macs).  Do not use Internet Explorer. The databases do not work well in Internet Explorer. The vendors of the databases have been notified about this problem but they have not created a fix for this as of yet.

If you continue to have trouble accessing any of the articles, please contact Julie Rustad. Her contact information is located below.

Accessing Online Articles

To access the articles in the reading list:

  • First, click on the linked title of the article.
  • Next, login to the system with your network username and password (the same username and password as Cor, Blackboard courses, and CSS email).
  • You will then be brought into the database where you will find the record of the article.
  • Look for the PDF of the article - for Ebsco databases, look in the upper left corner; for the ScienceDirect database, look in the left corner near the search textbox; for the ProQuest databases, look on the right side of the page in the small box next to the bold title of the article; and for Ovid, click on the PDF tab or PDF button on left side of page.

Unit One Reading List

To access the articles, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


Brooks, P., Spillane, J. J., Dick, K., & Stuart-Shor, E. (2014). Developing a strategy to identify and treat older patients with postoperative delirium. AORN Journal, 99(2), 256-276. https://10.106/j.aorn.2013.12.009

Martin, H. A., & Ciurzynski, S. M. (2015). Situation, background, assessments, and recommendation - guided huddles improve communication and teamwork in the emergency department. Journal of Emergency Nursing, 41(6), 484-488. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jen.2015.05.017

Rogers, A. D. (2018). What is "quality improvement"? Wound Healing Southern Africa, 11(1), 40-44. 

Unit Two Reading List

To access the articles, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


Cameron, H. L. (2018). Nurses' perceptions and practice related to alarm management: A quality improvement initiative. The Journal of Continuing Education, 49(5), 207-215. https://doi.org/10.3928/00220124-20180417-05

Mackinson, L. G., Corey, J., Kelly, V., O'Reilly, K. P., Stevens, J. P., Desanto-Madeya, S., . . . Foley, J. (2018). Nurse project consultant: Critical care nurses move beyond the bedside to affect quality and safety. Critical Care Nurse, 28(3), 54-66. https://doi.org/10.4037/ccn2018838

Newcombe, J., & Fry-Bowers, E. (2018). Improving postoperative neonatal nutritional practices in an intensive care unit using the PDSA cycle. Journal of Pediatric Health Care, 32(5), 426-434. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.pedhc.2018.03.004

Sammer, C. E., Lykes, K., Singh, K. P., Mains, D. A., & Lackan, N. A. (2010). What is patient safety culture? A review of the literature. Journal of Nursing Scholarship, 42(2), 156-165. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1547-5069.2009.01330.x

Unit Three Reading List

To access the articles, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you be will be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


Hampton, J. K., Reiter, T., Hogarth, J., Doerr, J., & Popejoy, L. (2014). Using FOCUS PDSA to improve antipsychotic medication management. Journal of Nursing Care Quality, 29(4), 295-302. https://doi.org/10.1097.NCQ.0000000000000077

Loftus, K., Tilley, T., Hoffman, J., Bradburn, E., & Harvey, E. (2015). Use of six sigma strategies to pull the line on central line-associated bloodstream infections in a neurotrauma intensive care unit. Journal of Trauma Nursing, 22(2), 78-86.  https://doi.org/10.1097/JTN.0000000000000111 

Unit Four Reading List

To access the articles, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


Godfrey, M., Anderson-Gare, B., Nelson, E., Nilsson, M., & Ahlstrom, G. (2014). Coaching interprofessional health care teams: The coachee, the coach and the leader perspective. Journal of Nursing Management, 22(4), 452-464. https://doi.org/10.1111/jonm.12068

Hirthler, K. (2014). Improved quality in diabetes care for the working uninsured using systems thinking with an interprofessional team. Clinical Scholars Review, 7(2), 164-168. https://doi.org10.1891/1939-2095.7.2.164

Martin, D. M. (2014). Interprofessional teams in the patient-centered home. Nursing Administration Quarterly, 38(3), 214-220. https://doi.org/10.1097/NAQ.0000000000000040

Unit Five Reading List

To access the articles, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


Schondelmeyer, A. C., Simmons, J. M., Statile, A. M., Hofacer, K. E., Smith, R., Prine, L., & Brady, P. W. (2015). Using quality improvement to reduce continuous pulse oximetry use in children with wheezing. Pediatrics, 135(4), e1044-e1051. https://doi.org/10.1542/peds.2014-2295

Zhu, Y., Lu, Z., & Dai, H. (2014). Improving efficiency and patient satisfaction in a peripherally inserted central catheter center using lean-based methodology. Journal of the Association for Vascular Access, 19(4), 244-255. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.java.2014.07.004

Unit Six Reading List

To access the articles, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


Chung, H., Duffy, F. F., Katzelnick, D. J., Williams, M. D., Trivedi, M. H., Rae, D. S., & Regier, D. A. (2013). Sustaining practice change one year after completion of the National Depression Management Leadership Initiative. Psychiatric Services, 64(7), 703-706. https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.ps.201200227

Powell, B. J., Waltz, T. J., Chinman, M. J., Damschroder, L. J., Smith, J. L., Matthieu, M. M., ... Kirchner, J. E. (2015). A refined compilation of implementation strategies: Results from the expert recommendations for implementing change (ERIC) project. Implementation Science, 10(1), Article 21. https://10.1186/s13012-015-0209-1

Salmela, S., Eriksson, K., & Fagerstrom, L. (2012). Leading change: A three-dimensional model of nurse leaders' main tasks and roles during a change process. Journal of Advanced Nursing, 68(2), 423-433. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1365-2648.2011.05802.x

Distance Education Librarian