CSSLibraryGuides: Tutorials for Learning to Use the Resources of the CSS Library: Home

Getting started

Welcome Video (10 min.)
Introduces the Library's services and resources especially to distance and online students
Library Account
Online form to check that your library account is set up and ready for use!

New EBSCO Interface Video for SOLAR and more! - 4 min. 30 sec. long

Tutorials on our library catalog, eBook collection, article databases, and Interlibrary Loan. Click here if you need to download Adobe Acrobat Reader to view .pdf files.

SOLAR
ScholastiCAT
Helps you find books and videos the Library has in its catalog.
Cochrane Library
Credo Reference
eBooks
Explains how to use eBooks in SOLAR including information on permalinks and how to save, email, or print portions.
eBooks - Complete
Explains how you can find and download eBooks the Library has access to for your Nook, Kindle, or iOS device (iPad, iPod, or iPhone).
EBSCO
For all EBSCO databases including CINAHL, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, Business Source Ultimate, SocINDEX etc.
Explanation of Types of Articles
Science Direct
Gale
For all Gale databases including Expanded Academic ASAP, Diversity Studies, Global Issues, LegalTrac, Fine Arts and Music, etc.
Instructions on how to do an interlibrary loan (Google doc)
JSTOR
Newsbank
Proquest
For all Proquest databases including Nursing & Allied Health, Medical Library, and newspapers
Psychiatry Online
PubMed
Reference Universe
Helps you to discover which encyclopedia articles (in print and full-text online) the Library has on your topic.

Tutorials from EBSCO - how to search, use eBooks, advanced features, etc.
EBSCO is the database company that provides many of our databases including: SOLAR, CINAHL, Business Source Ultimate, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, SocINDEX, eBooks, and more.

How to ...

Locate, Access, & Use Your Library Account
Learn how to find and access your account, see what you have checked out, monitor your requests, and review what you have returned.
Renew Library Items
Learn how to renew the items you have checked out, including interlibrary loan items!
Find the full-text of an article
Information about Interlibrary Loan
Instructions on how to do an interlibrary loan (Google doc)

EndNote

EndNote is software that can organize, store, and input citations into Word documents to help you with your research. The College of St. Scholastica has a site license which offers two options for you to access Endnote and you can either pick one or use both as the situation warrants.

EndNote has its own YouTube channel to learn more advanced features of this incredibly powerful program:
https://www.youtube.com/user/EndNoteTraining

1. EndNote Download
To download EndNote, click on the link to the Google doc below for instructions

Google doc with links and instructions on how to download EndNote for both and Macs and Windows
Instructions
How to download and set up your EndNote software
EndNote Database Instructions
How to export citations from some of the most commonly used databases

2. EndNote Online