Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry: 1. Reference

Library resources to help with chemistry research

Reference Collection

CSS Reference CollecitonThe CSS Reference Collection includes useful encyclopedias, statistics, handbooks, and subject dictionaries all which help you decide on a topic, narrow it, and begin researching it.

Now they are even easier to use as you can search online for them using Reference Universe or through our other online encyclopedia collections especially Credo. You can also use our SCANNX to scan the articles from books here in print and then email or print them or even zap them to your smart phone!

Since the online collections and titles are limited to the CSS population, you will need to login to these reference collections using your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password that is used to login to the CSS email or Brightspace.

Online Reference Resources

Print Reference Books

The following list of encyclopedias are just some of what is available in the CSS Library's Reference Collection located on the 1st Floor of the library:

     Encyclopedia  of Pseudoscience Book                          Encyclopedia of Bioethics Book                                                             

They are as follows:

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Encyclopedia  of Pseudoscience
McGraw Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
The Timetables of Science
Academic Press Dictionary of Science & Technology
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography

American Men & Women of Science
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution
Medieval Science
History of Modern Science and Mathematics
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology 

Encyclopedia of World Climatology
Our Earth’s Changing Land
Forest Fires
Pollution A to Z
McMillan Encyclopedia of Energy
Environmental Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Climate Change: In Context


Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine, 
World of Sports Science
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food

Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z
Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Evolution
Technology & Medicine: An Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of US Biomedical Policy
Encyclopedia of Science Technology & Ethics
The Human Genome Sourcebook
Encyclopedia of Evolution
Encyclopedia of Bioethics

Related Guides