Most of the articles in this online reading list are coming from the CSS Library databases. When using the Library databases and accessing the articles from any of the Online Reading Lists, be sure to use one of these internet browsers - Chrome, FireFox, or Safari (Macs). Do not use Internet Explorer. The databases do not work well in Internet Explorer. The vendors of the databases have been notified about this problem but they have not created a fix for this as of yet.
If you continue to have trouble accessing any of the articles, please contact Julie Rustad. Her contact information is located below.
To access the articles in the reading list:
To access the readings, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your CSS login. This is the same username and password you use to access Brightspace, my.CSS, and your CSS email.
If you encounter any problems accessing the readings, please contact Julie Rustad.
American Association of College Nursing. (2021). The essentials: Core competencies for professional nursing education. https://www.aacnnursing.org/AACN-Essentials
American Organization of Nurse Executives. (2015a). Nurse executive competencies. https://www.aonl.org/sites/default/files/aone/nec.pdf
American Organization of Nurse Executives. (2015b). Nurse manager competencies. https://www.aonl.org/sites/default/files/aone/nec.pdf
College of St. Scholastica. (2022). The College of St. Scholastica mission and values. https://www.css.edu/about/mission-and-values/
Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. (2010, October). The future of nursing: Leading change, advancing health. National Academies of Science. https://www.nap.edu/catalog/12956/the-future-of-nursing-leading-change-advancing-health NOTE: There is an option to download the free version of the book in PDF form or to read it online for free; however, you may need to sign-in as a "Guest".
National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties. (2012). Nurse practitioner core competencies [Amended report]. https://www.pncb.org/sites/default/files/2017-02/NONPF_Core_Competencies.pdf
Anderson, C. (2018). Exploring the role of advanced nurse practitioners in leadership. Nursing Standard, 33(2), 29-33. https://doi.org/10.7748/ns.2018.e11044
Burr, S. A., & Leung, Y. L. (2015). Towards a better understanding of clinical leadership. British Journal of Hospital Medicine, 76(5), 276-280. https://doi.org/10.12968/hmed.2015.76.5.276
Elliott, N., Begley, C., Sheaf, G., & Higgins, A. (2016). Barriers and enablers to advanced practitioners' ability to enact their leadership role: A scoping review. International Journal of Nursing Studies, 60, 24-45. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijnurstu.2016.03.001
Hammatt, J. S., & Niles, M. A. (2015). DNP's: What can we expect? Nurse Leader, 13(6), 64-67. https://doi.org./10.1016/j.mnl.2015.03.014
MacLeod, L. (2015). Toppling the 3-legged stool: The nurse leader's role. Nurse Leader, 13(6), 68-71. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mnl.2015.08.003
Nichols, L. J., & Wright, K. M. (2015). Implementing a primary healthcare framework: The importance of nursing leadership in developing and maintaining a brain tumor support group. Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing, 19(4), 463-467. http://dx.doi.org/10.1188/15.CJON.463-467
Peota, C. (2013). A look into the future: Physician's predictions about medicine. Minnesota Medicine, 96(12), 16-25.
White, K. R. (2014). The future of nursing leadership: A commentary. Frontiers of Health Services Management, 31(2), 27-34. https://doi.org/10.1097/01974520-201410000-00004
To access the readings, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your CSS login. This is the same username and password you use to access Brightspace, my.CSS, and your CSS email.
If you encounter any problems accessing these readings, please contact Julie Rustad.
Brounstein, M. (n.d.). Ten qualities of an effective team player. Dummies. http://www.dummies.com/business/human-resources/employee-engagement/ten-qualities-of-an-effective-team-player/
Cox, K. (2018). Use of emotional intelligence to enhance advanced practice registered nursing competencies. Journal of Nursing Education, 57(11), 648-654. https://doi.org/10.3928/01484834-20181022-04
Falk, N. L., & House, M. (2014, October). Don't come late to the party: Step up and lead. Contemporary Nurse, 48(2), 133-134. https://doi.org/10.5172/conu.2014.48.2.133
Leimbach, M., & Eidson, C. (n.d.). Virtual survival guide: Top 10 tips for remote work teams. Wilson Learning. http://www.wilsonlearning.com/wlw/articles/w/tips-remote-teams
Watkins, M. D. (2013, June 27). Making virtual teams work: Ten basic principles. Harvard Business Review. Retrieved from https://hbr.org/2013/06/making-virtual-teams-work-ten
Block, D. (2013). Disruptive innovation: Contributing to a value-based health care system. Physician Executive, 39(5), 46-50, 52.
Boule, M. (2008). Best practices for working in a virtual team environment. Library Technology Reports, 44(1), 28-31.
DeRosa, D. (2011, August). Hello, is anybody out there? Six steps to high-impact v-meetings. T+D, 65(8), 28-29.
Goldsberry, J. W. (2018). Advanced practice nurses leading the way: Interprofessional collaboration. Nurse Education Today, 65(1), 1-3. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nedt.2018.02.024
Kunnanatt, J. T. (2016). 3D leadership: Strategy-linked leadership framework for managing teams. Economics, Management & Financial Markets, 11(3), 30-55.
Lepsinger, R., & DeRosa, D. (2015, May/June). How to lead an effective virtual team. Ivey Business Journal. https://iveybusinessjournal.com/how-to-lead-an-effective-virtual-team/
Makani, J., Durier-Copp, M., Kiceniuk, D., & Blandford, A. (2016). Strengthening deeper learning through virtual teams in e-learning: A synthesis of determinants and best practices. International Journal of E-Learning & Distance Education, 31(2), 1-16. http://www.ijede.ca/index.php/jde/article/view/967/1635
Reed, P., Conrad, D. A., Hernandez, S. E., Watts, C., & Marcus-Smith, M. (2012). Innovation in patient-centered care: Lessons from a qualitative study of innovative health care organizations in Washington State. BMC Family Practice, 13(1), 120. https://10.1186/1471-2296-13-120
Sims, S., Hewitt, G., & Harris, R. (2015). Evidence of a shared purpose, critical reflection, innovation and leadership in interprofessional healthcare teams: A realist synthesis. Journal of Interprofessional Care, 29(3), 209-215. https://doi.org/10.3109/13561820.2014.941459
Sonson, S. L. (2013). DNP-prepared APRNs: Leading the Magnet charge. Nursing Management, 44(7), 49-52. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.numa.0000431425.39076.81
Trimble, C. (2015, March 9). The best way to improve health care delivery is with a small, dedicated team. Harvard Business Review Digital Articles.
To access the readings, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your CSS login. This is the same username and password you use to access Brightspace, my.CSS, and your CSS email.
If you encounter any problems accessing these readings, please contact Julie Rustad.
Kapu, A. N., & Jones, P. (2016). APRN transformational leadership. Nursing Management, 47(2), 19-22. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.numa.0000479443.75643.2b
Metzger, R., & Rivers, C. (2014). Advanced practice nursing organizational leadership model. The Journal for Nurse Practitioners, 10(5), 337-343. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nurpra.2014.02.015
Carman, K. L., Paez, K., Stephens, J., Smeeding L., Garfinkel, S., Blough, C., Devers, K., Hoover, M., Spaulding, T., & Mapes, D. (2014, November). Improving care delivery through lean: Implementation case studies (AHRQ Publication No. 13(15)-0056). Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. http://www.ahrq.gov/professionals/systems/system/systemdesign/leancasestudies/lean-intro.html#Background
Elliott, N., Begley, C., Sheaf, G., & Higgins, A. (2016). Barriers and enablers to advanced practitioners' ability to enact their leadership role: A scoping review. International Journal of Nursing Studies, 60, 24-45. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijnurstu.2016.03.001
Hacker, K., & Walker, D. K. (2013). Achieving population health in accountable care organizations. American Journal of Public Health, 103(7), 1163-1167. https://doi.org/10.2105/ajph.2013.301254
Stempniak, M. (2014, September). Treating the patient's voice as a strategic imperative. H&HN: Hospitals & Health Network, 88(9), 38-42.
Talbert, T. L. (2012). The role of the nurse executive in fostering and empowering the advanced practice registered nurse. Nursing Clinics of North America, 47(2), 261-267. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cnur.2012.02.007
Van Durme, T., Macq, J., Anthierens, S., Symons, L., Schmitz, O., Paulus, D., Van den Heede, K., & Remmen, R. (2014). Stakeholders' perception on the organization of chronic care: A SWOT analysis to draft avenues for health care reforms. BMC Health Services Research, 14(1), 179. https://doi.org/10.1186/1472-6963-14-179
Zuckerman, A. M. (2014). Successful strategic planning for a reformed delivery system. Journal of Healthcare Management, 59(3), 168-172. https://doi.org/10.1097/00115514-201405000-00003
To access the readings, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your CSS login. This is the same username and password you use to access Brightspace, my.CSS, and your CSS email.
If you encounter any problems with accessing these readings, please contact Julie Rustad.
Buccoliero, L., Bellio, E., Mazzola, M., & Solinas, E. (2016). A marketing perspective to "delight" the "patient 2.0": New and challenging expectations for the healthcare provider. BMC Health Services Research, 16(47). https://doi.org/10.1186/s12913-016-1285-x
Fields, R. (2014, April 7). Culture as competitive advantage for marketers. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/onmarketing/2014/04/07/culture-as-competitive-advantage-for-marketers/#1f46d2a97a13
Gibson, C., & Hesse, M. (2018, January 5). The bowl that had a hand in picking a VA lawmaker. The Washington Post, C.1.
Hemker, R. A., & Solomon, L. A. (2016). Building a physician culture for healthcare transformation: A hospital's leadership challenge. Frontiers of Health Services Management, 32(3), 3-14. https://doi.org/10.1097/01974520-201601000-00002
Markelz, M. (2016). Is marketing perpetuating Latino health care disparities? Marketing Health Services, 36(1), 24-27.
Neuman, T., & Rother, J. (2015). Should Medicare rely more on market competition? What the healthcare market will bear. Generations, 39(2), 172-179.
Parmelli, E., Flodgren, G., Beyer, F., Baillie, N. Schaafsma, M. E., & Eccles, M. P. (2011, April 3). The effectiveness of strategies to change organisational culture to improve performance: A systematic review. Implementation Science, 6, Article 33. https://doi.org/10.1186/1748-5908-6-33
To access the readings, click on the title of the source. For readings within the Library databases, you will be prompted for your CSS login. This is the same username and password you use to access Brightspace, my.CSS, and your CSS email.
If you encounter any problems accessing these readings, please contact Julie Rustad.
Brach, C., Lenfestey, N., Roussel, A., Amoozegar, J., & Sorenson, A. (2008, September). Will it work here? A decision maker's guide to adopting innovations [AHRQ Publications No. 08-0051]. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. https://innovations.ahrq.gov/sites/default/files/guides/InnovationAdoptionGuide.pdf
Driessen, P. (2009, June 14). Actions to help improve leadership practice. Helping You Succeed! http://patrickdriessen.blogspot.com/2009/06/actions-to-help-improve-leadership.html
Galioto, M. (2017, December). APNs have a role in leading value-based care. ONS Voice, 32(12), 43.
Newlands, M. (2015, June 24). 12 things you can do starting today to be a better leader. Entrepreneur. https://www.entrepreneur.com/slideshow/308154
Olvera, L., Hunt, K., Johnson, K., & Li, S. Y. (2018). The APRN as servant leader. Journal of Christian Nursing, 35(1), 13. https://doi.org/10.1097/cnj.0000000000000457
Swartwout, K. D. (2016). Primary care NPs: Leaders in population health. The Nurse Practitioner, 41(8), 46-50. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.npr.0000471365.94863.4d
Waldman, D. A., & Bowen, D. E. (2011). Learning to be a paradox-savvy leader. Academy of Management Perspectives, 30(3), 316-327. https://doi.org/10.5465/amp.2015.0070
