Articles - Social Work - Learning for a Lifetime - CSSLibraryGuides at The College of St. Scholastica

Searching for Articles in Databases

The CSS Library has many online databases to help you with your research. They contain primarily articles from periodicals such as journals.

There are two types of databases including general databases, which contain articles on all types of topics and specialized ones designed for a specific subject area such as nursing, education, psychology, business, etc.

If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in using your CSS login - the same as what you use for Brightspace, my.CSS, and your CSS Gmail.
All databases to which the CSS Library subscribes

General Databases

SOLAR
"Google" all the Library's great resources.
Academic Search Premier

Our database with the broadest coverage of all disciplines.
MNLINK
The “SOLAR” of the Minnesota public library world.

Top Social Work Databases

SocINDEX with Full-Text
Best social work/sociology-specific database. Includes, journals, books, & conference papers.
MedLine Complete
The premier medical database.
APA PsycINFO

Premier database for psychology. Includes indexing of journals, books, & dissertations.
PsychiatryOnline
No longer available For access to the DMS Library, see the entry for DSM-V on this database menu.

More Health-Related Databases

Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Cochrane Library
A unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care.
Consumer Health Complete
The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content.
Health Business FullTEXT Elite
Provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
HealthSource - Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health
Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 525 titles, with over 470 titles in full-text.

How to Cite Articles

In APA:

Instructions for Databases

SOLAR
Instructions on how to use the Library's discovery system
EBSCO
For all EBSCO databases including CINAHL, MEDLINE, APA PsycINFO, Business Source Ultimate, SocINDEX etc.
Proquest
For all Proquest databases including Nursing & Allied Health, Medical Library, and newspapers
Cochrane Library
PubMed

Social Work - Learning for a Lifetime: Articles