Faculty Resources @ The College of St. Scholastica Library: Welcome

Resources to assist CSS faculty members in their teaching & research.
Ordering books

Q: Is it possible to order out-of-print books? Yes, contact Julie Walkowiak (x6649) for assistance.

Q: How do I know how much money is left in my departmental budget? Contact either Kevin Mcgrew (x6198) or Julie Walkowiak (x6649).

Welcome to your library services

The College of St. Scholastica offers you access to a collection of over 300,000 print & ebooks, and approx. 60,000 full-text electronic journals. Through our Interlibrary Loan service you have access to the collections of the major libraries in the state. Also through InterLibrary Loan we can deliver journal articles to your email in just a few days.

We will never be a research library, but we have a dedicated staff of professionals who can provide service for both your research & teaching needs. We can do much more than you think.

 

Collection development

We are your partners in building the Library's collection. You know what you want to teach, so use your yearly book monies to purchase materials that will make your classroom assignments work. We can help you with collection analysis of our current holdings or assist in determing core collections in our discipline. Contact Brad Snelling for more information.

And don't be afraid to ask for resources! If we don't know you need something, then we probably won't get it. Talk to Kevin McGrew or your school's Librarian about your wish list.

 

Library instruction for your students

Librarians can work with you to create student-friendly assignments that will match our library collection. We can also visit your classroom and give students guidance on how to use library resources to research the assignments you have created. Contact Heidi Johnson for traditional student instruction or Julie Rustad for GEO student instruction.

 

Print & online reserves

The Library offers print & electronic reserves for your classroom needs. For books, articles, and movies held on reserve for your students at the Library's Circulation desk, contact Karen Ostovich. For electronic reserves, contact Todd White.

 

Library guides at the class, department, & school level

The Library offers you custom built guides on research & library services for your students at the individual class level, department level, minor, major, or school level. If you are interested in tailoring libary services to your teaching needs, contact Todd White.

 

Authoring software for your own subject guides

If you have a passion about the subject you teach and want to share it with the community, we can offer you the opportunity to use our software and become part of the Library family. Our LibGuides software is user friendly (really, it is!), so consider creating a guide with us. Contact Todd White for more information.

 

AV & laptop checkout

We offer digital camcorders, digital audio recorders, & LCD projectors for check out, as well as laptops for in & out of the Library use. Contact Karen Ostovich for more information.

 

Scanners

Our SCANNX scanner sends images & documents directly to email, USB drives, printers, the cloud, or your smart phone. The SCANNX can also create searchable .pdfs & Word documents.

Netflix

We offer Netflix service for your classroom needs. Please contact Jenny Lund for more information.

 

Non-proctored make-up examiniations

Students can complete non-proctored make-up examinations in the Library. Please read our policies on make-up examinations.

 

A safe haven from your office

You know there are days when you can get nothing done in your office. All those supplicants at the door! Why not come to the Library? When you are safely ensconced on the quiet Wi-Fi friendly third floor the only business that gets done is what you want.

 

Food & drink

Beverages & light snacks are welcome in the Library.
 

Air conditioning

Yes, the Library is air conditioned. So if the summer sweats are too much for you in Tower Hall, come cool down in the Library.