Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference, to "refer to"
“Windmill in Flanders,” by Theo van Rysselberghe, 1894. Oil on canvas. Image from Credo Reference.
For the student and scholar, reference can have two meaning. One, a source that you can refer to for answers, and also the source, or reference, that accompanies a book or article. A good encyclopedia article gives you the best of both. Try starting your research with Credo Reference.
For more in-depth answers, try the 2 volume Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy. And if you like that, how about Achieving Sustainability: Visions, Principles, and Practices, or The Encyclopedia of Ecotourism?
And don’t be a stranger to the print collection, or you will be missing out on the 10 volume Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, the 2 volume Our Earth’s Changing Land: An Encyclopedia of Land-Use and Land-Cover Change, Water Planet: The Culture, Politics, Economics, and Sustainability of Water on Earth, and more!
Remember to check the bibliography at the end of an article - a basic trick to build your own bibliography for your paper. Browse the master list of print & electronic encyclopedias available to you as a student for more great sources for your other classes.
Articles on sustainability
Use the following Library databases for discovering articles on sustainability.
New for Fall 2020
Air Pollution by
The problem of air pollution has become a global issue, driven by rapid economic growth, industrialization, and urbanization. Pollutants directly emitted into the atmosphere include nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, sulphur oxides, particulate matter (PM), volatile organic compounds, carbonaceous particles, dust, and sea-salt. Secondary pollutants, formed in the atmosphere, include tropospheric ozone and secondary PM. Emissions can come from various sources including fossil fuel production, distribution and consumption, industrial processes, domestic and agricultural activities, and open biomass burning. Natural biogenic emissions of volatile organic compounds also contribute to tropospheric ozone and secondary organic aerosol production. This book will give the reader a better understanding of both anthropogenic and biogenic pollutant emissions and their effects. It describes the most recent innovations in methods used to quantify air pollution and the strategies being used to alleviate poor air quality. A brief background on air pollution is followed by a discussion of global anthropogenic and biogenic emissions from various sources and their role in deteriorating air quality. Megacities are emphasized and possible pollution control measures and methods of air pollution measurement and modelling are explained. An overview of indices used for assessing air quality with a focus on health impacts, and a discussion of technologies and policies to control air pollution are also included. This book is aimed at students of environmental and atmospheric science, chemistry and biology. It is also essential reading for environmental consultants, and air quality researchers.
Books on sustainability
Search for CSS print & ebooks on sustainability.
ScholastiCAT is the Library's catalogue, a listing of its books by author, title, & subject. Videos are also included. ScholastiCAT will search all of our print books, our video & media, and a portion of our e-books collections.
Academic eBook Collection
211,193 current academic titles.
Search libraries other than CSS. Request books through InterLlibrary Loan.
Search for books at other MN private colleges.
Search for books in the major academic & public libraries of the United States and thirteen other countries.
Aldo Leopold, Environmental Philosopher
School of Arts & Letters Librarian
"Google" all the Library's great resources.
By their nature, atlases are visual information. So, if you need a graphic for your presentation or paper, browse our atlas collection for some bling to add to that PowerPoint.