Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SWK 3395 & SWK 6777 - Social Work & Health Care: Online Course: Weeks 13-15

Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (user name and password as Cor, BlackBoard, or your CSS email).

Note about Accessing Articles in the Online Reading List

Image of a blue and green earth with a computer mouse and cord over it.Most of the articles in this online reading list are coming from the CSS Library databases. When using the Library databases and accessing the articles from any of the Online Reading Lists, be sure to use one of these internet browsers - Mozilla, Chrome, or Safari (Macs).  Do not use Internet Explorer. The databases do not work well in Internet Explorer. The vendors of the databases have been notified about this problem but they have not created a fix for this as of yet.

If you continue to have trouble accessing any of the articles, please contact Julie Rustad. Her contact information is located below.

Accessing Online Articles

To access the articles in the reading list:

  • Click on the linked title of the article,
  • Next, login to the system with your Novell user name and password (the same username and password as Cor, Blackboard courses, and CSS email),
  • You will then be brought into the database where you will find the record of the article.
  • Look for the PDF of the article - for Ebsco databases, look in the upper left corner; for the ScienceDirect database, look in the left corner below the two green circles; and for the ProQuest databases, look on the right side of the page in the small box next to the bold title of the article.

Week 13 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Article to Read:

 


Galambos, C. M. (2003). Moving cultural diversity toward cultural competence in health care. Health & Social Work, 28(1), 3-7. 

 


 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:

 


Video Title: Unnatural Causes: Becoming American
Producer: California Newsreel
Length: 30:08 mins
 

NOTE: This video is only available to registered students, faculty, and staff of the St. Scholastica Community. You will be required to login with your network username and password (the same username and password you use to login to Cor, Blackboard, and your CSS email).

 

 

Video Title: What is Cultural Competence and Why is it Important?
Created by: CLASAlliance
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 2:43 mins

 

Week 14 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Allen, H. (2012). Is there a social worker in the house? Health care reform and the future of medical social work. Health & Social Work, 37, 183-186. 

 

Ferguson, A. (2015). The future of gerontological social work: What we know and what we don't know about student interest in the field. Journal of Evidence-Informed Social Work, 12, 184-197. doi:10.1080/15433714.2013.808601 

 

Golden, R. L. (2011). Coordination, integration, and collaboration: A clear path for social work in health care reform. Health & Social Work, 36, 227-228. doi:10.1093/hsw/36.3.227

 

Reisch, M., & Gorin, S. H. (2001). Nature of work and future of the social work profession. Social Work, 46(1), 9-19. doi:10.1093/sw/46.1.9

 

Spitzer, W. J., & Davidson, K. W. (2013). Future trends in health and health care: Implications for social work practice in an aging society. Social Work in Health Care, 52, 959-986. doi:10.1080/00981389.2013.834028

 


 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:

 


Redesigning MN: Prescriptions for health: Episode 6 [Television series webisode]. (n.d.). In Prescription for health. Retrieved from http://www.redesigningmn.org/programs/episodes/?show=6

 

Video Title: What Healthcare Will Look Like in 2020 | Stephen Klasko | TEDxPhiladelphia
Created by: Tedx Talks
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 20:28 mins

 

Week 15 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Eckman, E., & Halpern, J. (2015). Professional distress and meaning in health care: Why professional empathy can help. Social Work in Health Care, 54(7), 633-650. doi:10.1080/00981389.2015.1046575

 

 

Speaker     

      Podcast to Listen to:

 


Rosenthal, E. (2017, April 10). How U.S. health care became big business (T. Gross, Interviewer). [Audio series episode]. In S. Briger & T. Chaloner (Producers), Fresh air. Retrieved from https://www.mprnews.org/story/2017/04/11/npr-how-u-s-health-care-became-big-business

Look Up Your Library Barcode Number

Don't know your library barcode number?

You can find it here:

Library Barcode Number Look-Up