Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SWK 3395 & SWK 6777 - Social Work & Health Care: Online Course: Weeks 9-12

Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (user name and password as Cor, BlackBoard, or your CSS email).

Note about Accessing Articles in the Online Reading List

Image of a blue and green earth with a computer mouse and cord over it.Most of the articles in this online reading list are coming from the CSS Library databases. When using the Library databases and accessing the articles from any of the Online Reading Lists, be sure to use one of these internet browsers - Mozilla, Chrome, or Safari (Macs).  Do not use Internet Explorer. The databases do not work well in Internet Explorer. The vendors of the databases have been notified about this problem but they have not created a fix for this as of yet.

If you continue to have trouble accessing any of the articles, please contact Julie Rustad. Her contact information is located below.

Accessing Online Articles

To access the articles in the reading list:

  • Click on the linked title of the article,
  • Next, login to the system with your Novell user name and password (the same username and password as Cor, Blackboard courses, and CSS email),
  • You will then be brought into the database where you will find the record of the article.
  • Look for the PDF of the article - for Ebsco databases, look in the upper left corner; for the ScienceDirect database, look in the left corner below the two green circles; and for the ProQuest databases, look on the right side of the page in the small box next to the bold title of the article.

Week 9 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Article to Read:

 


 

Chong, W. W., Aslani, P., & Chen, T. F. (2013). Shared decision-making and interpersonal collaboration in mental healthcare: A qualitative study exploring perceptions of barriers and facilitators. Journal of Interprofessional Care, 27, 373-379.

 

West, A., Miller, S., & Leitch, J. (2016). Professional socalization and attitudes towards interprofessional collaboration among graduate social work and health professions students. Advances in Social Work, 17, 134-150. http://dx.doi.org/10.18060/19809

 


 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:

 


 

Video Title: Eric Dishman: Health Care Should be a Team Sport
Created by: TED
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 15:59 mins

 

 

Video Title: Human Investment: A Short Film
Created by: Human Investment
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 21:21 mins

 

Week 10 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Altilo, T., Gardia, G., & Otis-Green, S. (2007). Social work practice in palliative end-of-life care: A report from the summit. Journal of Social Work in End-of-Life & Palliative Care, 3(4), 66-86. doi:10.1080/15524250802003513

 

Arnold, E. M., Artin, K. A., Griffith, D., Person, J. L., & Graham, K. G. (2006). Unmet needs at the end of life: Perceptions of hospice social workers. Journal of Social Work in End-of-Life & Palliative Care, 2(4), 61-83. doi:10.1300/J457v02n04_04

 

Kramer, B. J. (2013). Social workers' roles in addressing the complex end-of-life care needs of elders with advanced chronic disease. Journal of Social Work in End-of-Life & Palliative Care, 9, 308-330. doi:10.1080/15524256.2013.846887

 

Ramer-Chrastek, J., & Thygeson, M. V. (2005). A perinatal hospice for an unborn child with a life-limiting condition. International Journal of Palliative Nursing, 11, 274-276. 

 

Walsch, K., Corbett, B., & Whitaker, T. (2005). Developing practice tools for social workers in end-of-life care. Journal of Social Work in End-of-Life & Palliative Care, 1(2), 3-9. doi:10.1300/J457v01n02_02

 


 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:

 


Navasky, M., & O'Connor, K. (Writers & Directors). (2010, November 10.) Facing death [Television series webisode]. In M. Navasky & K. O'Connor (Producers), Frontline. Retrieved from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/facing-death/

 

The social worker: An important part of your healthcare team [Video file]. (2014, December 4). Retrieved from https://www.patientpower.info/video/the-social-worker-an-important-part-of-your-healthcare-team

 

Week 11 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Browne, T. (2011). Palliative care in chronic kidney disease. In T. Altilio, & S. Otis-Green (Eds.), Oxford textbook of palliative social work (pp. 339-350). Retrieved from https://www.ebscohost.com/ebooks

 

Findley, P. A. (2014). Social work practice in the chronic care model: Chronic illness and disability care. Journal of Social Work, 14(1), 83-95. 

 

Nabors, L. A. (2014). Information for mental health providers working with children who have chronic illnesses. Retrieved from https://www.ebscohost.com/ebooks

 


 

Speaker     

      Podcast to Listen to:

 


Hyman, M., Gordon, J., & George, P. (2015, December 3). The evolution of medicine [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from https://onbeing.org/programs/mark-hyman-james-gordon-penny-george-the-evolution-of-medicine/

 

Week 12 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Article to Read:

 


Fulmer, T. (2016, December 27). Fighting ageism and unfair treatment in health care. NextAvenue. Retrieved from http://www.nextavenue.org/fighting-ageism-health-system/

 


 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:

 


The Genius of Marian [Video trailer]. (2014, September). Retrieved from http://www.pbs.org/pov/geniusofmarian/

 

Navasky, M., & O'Conner, K. (Writers & Directors). (2006, November 21). Living old  [Television series webisode]. In M. Navasky & K. O'Conner (Producers), Frontline. Retrieved from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/film/livingold/

 

Look Up Your Library Barcode Number

Don't know your library barcode number?

You can find it here:

Library Barcode Number Look-Up