Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SWK 3395 & SWK 6777 - Social Work & Health Care: Online Course: Weeks 5-8

Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (user name and password as Cor, BlackBoard, or your CSS email).

Note about Accessing the Articles in the Online Reading List

Image of a blue and green earth with a computer mouse and cord over it.Most of the articles in this online reading list are coming from the CSS Library databases. When using the Library databases and accessing the articles from any of the Online Reading Lists, be sure to use one of these internet browsers - Mozilla, Chrome, or Safari (Macs).  Do not use Internet Explorer. The databases do not work well in Internet Explorer. The vendors of the databases have been notified about this problem but they have not created a fix for this as of yet.

If you continue to have trouble accessing any of the articles, please contact Julie Rustad. Her contact information is located below.

Accessing Online Articles

To access the articles in the reading list:

  • Click on the linked title of the article,
  • Next, login to the system with your Novell user name and password (the same username and password as Cor, Blackboard courses, and CSS email),
  • You will then be brought into the database where you will find the record of the article.
  • Look for the PDF of the article - for Ebsco databases, look in the upper left corner; for the ScienceDirect database, look in the left corner below the two green circles; and for the ProQuest databases, look on the right side of the page in the small box next to the bold title of the article.

Week 5 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Allen, K. N. (2011). Health care social workers and ethics committees. The New Social Worker, 18(4), 4-8.

 

Desrosiers, P. L., Mallinger, G., & Bragg-Underwood, T. (2016). Promoting socially just healthcare systems: Social work's contribution to patient navigation. Advances in Social Work, 17(2), 187-202. http://dx.doi.org/10.18060/18609

 

Rees, G. (2008). Equity in medical care: An Aristotelian defense of imperfect rules - and bending themVirtual Mentor, 10(5), 320-323. doi:10.1001/virtualmentor.2008.10.5.mhum-1-0805

 


 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Video to Watch:


Navasky, M., & O'Connor, K. (Writers & Directors). (2012, November 13). The suicide plan [Television series webisode]. In M. Navasky & K. O'Conner, Frontline. Retrieved from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/film/suicide-plan/

 

Week 6 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Betancourt, J. R., Green, A. R., Carrillo, J. E., & Park, E. R. (2005). Cultural competence and health care disparities: Key perspectives and trends. Health Affairs, 24(2), 499-505. doi:10.1377/hlthaff.24/2/499

 

Commission on Social Determinants of Health. (2008). Closing the gap in a generation: Health equity through action on the social determinants of health. Retrieved from World Health Organization website: http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/10665/43943/1/9789241563703_eng.pdf

 

Healthy people 2020: 2020 topics and objectives. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/topics-objectives

 


 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:


Poverty and poor health [Video file]. Retrieved from PBS website: http://www.pbs.org/video/2365652541/

 

Video Title: 2015 Health Disparities Roundtable - Health in all Policies: Ed Ehlinger
Created by: UMNSPH
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 41:42 mins

 

Week 7 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Flores, G. (2010). Racial and ethic disparities in the health and health care of children [Technical report]. Pediatrics, 125, e979-e1020. doi:10.1542/peds.2010-0188

 

Landon, C., Groff, S., Jenkins, T. L., & Nicholson, C. E. (2006). Impact of pediatric critical illness and injury on families: A systematic literature review. Pediatrics, 118(Suppl. 3). doi:10.1542/peds.2006-0951b

 

Rouland Polmanteer, R., Keefe, R. H., & Brownstein-Evans, C. (2016). Social workers' screening practices for postpartum depression. Advances in Social Work, 17, 273-284. http://dx.doi.org/10.18060/21008

 

Shonkoff, J. P., Siegel, B. S., Garner, A. S., Dobbins, M. I., Earls, M. F., McGuinn, L., . . . Wood, D. L. (2012). The lifelong effects of early childhood adversity and toxic stress. Pediatrics, 129(1), e232-e238. doi:10.1542/peds.2011-2663

 

Truog, R. D., Christ, G., Browning, D. M., & Meyer, E. C. (2006). Sudden traumatic death in children. JAMA, 295, 2646-2654. doi:10.1001/jama.295.22.2646

 


Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:


Connecting with babies [Video file]. Retrieved from Zero to Three website: https://www.zerotothree.org/resources/379-connecting-with-babies

 

Rosenbaum, J. (Producer). (2012, June 26). Dollars and dentists [Video file]. Retrieved from PBS website: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/film/dollars-and-dentists/

 

Week 8 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Felitti, V. J., Anda, R. F., Nordenberg, D., Williamson, D. F., Spitz, A. M., Edwards, V., . . . Marks, J. S. (1998). Relationship of childhood abuse and household dysfunction to many of the leading causes of death in adults: The Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) study. American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 14, 245-258. doi:10.1016/s0749-3797(98)00017-8

 

Findley, P., Shen, C., & Sambarnoothi, U. (2011). Multimorbidity and persistent depression among veterans with diabetes, heart disease, and hypertension. Health & Social Work, 36(2), 109-119. doi:10.1093/hsw/36.2.109

 

Katon, W., & Ciechanowski, P. (2002). Impact of major depression on chronic mental illness. Journal of Psychosomatic Research, 53, 859-863. doi:10.106/S022-3999(02)00313-6

 

Prasad, M. L. (2017, January 5). Kidney dialysis: Prolonging life or prolonging death? NextAvenue. Retrieved from http://www.nextavenue.org/kidney-dialysis/

 

Starecheski, L. (2015, March 2). Take the ACE quiz - And learn what it does and doesn't mean. Shots: Health news from NPR. Retrieved from http://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/

 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, & Center for Substance Abuse Treatment. (2012). A provider's introduction to substance abuse treatment for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals (SAMHSA Publication No. SMA12-4104). Retrieved from Healthy People 2020 website: https://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/tools-resources/evidence-based-resource/providers-introduction-substance-abuse-treatment

 


 

Speaker     

      Podcasts to Listen to:

 


Hanson, D., & Hanson, S. (2006, May 4). Room for J: One family's struggle with schizophrenia [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.onbeing.org/program/room-j-one-familys-struggle-schizophrenia/168

 

Van der Kolk, B. (2014, October 30). Restoring the body: Yoga, EMDR, and treating trauma [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.onbeing.org/program/restoring-the-body-bessel-van-der-kolk-on-yoga-emdr-and-treating-trauma/5801

 

 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:


Video Title: Dark Days: Shedding Light on Depression
Distributor: Films on Demand
Length: 21:27 mins
 

NOTE: This video is only available to registered students, faculty, and staff of the St. Scholastica Community. You will be required to login with your network username and password (the same username and password you use to login to Cor, Blackboard, and your CSS email).

 

 

Video Title: What's so Funny about Mental Illness? - Ruby Wax
Created by: TED-Ed
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 8:45 mins

 

Look Up Your Library Barcode Number

Don't know your library barcode number?

You can find it here:

Library Barcode Number Look-Up