Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SWK 3395 & SWK 6777 - Social Work & Health Care: Online Course: Weeks 1-4

Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (user name and password as Cor, BlackBoard, or your CSS email).

Note about Accessing Articles in the Online Reading List

Image of a blue and green earth with a computer mouse and cord over it.Most of the articles in this online reading list are coming from the CSS Library databases. When using the Library databases and accessing the articles from any of the Online Reading Lists, be sure to use one of these internet browsers - Mozilla, Chrome, or Safari (Macs).  Do not use Internet Explorer. The databases do not work well in Internet Explorer. The vendors of the databases have been notified about this problem but they have not created a fix for this as of yet.

If you continue to have trouble accessing any of the articles, please contact Julie Rustad. Her contact information is located below.

Accessing Online Articles

To access the articles in the reading list:

  • Click on the linked title of the article,
  • Next, login to the system with your Novell user name and password (the same username and password as Cor, Blackboard courses, and CSS email),
  • You will then be brought into the database where you will find the record of the article.
  • Look for the PDF of the article - for Ebsco databases, look in the upper left corner; for the ScienceDirect database, look in the left corner below the two green circles; and for the ProQuest databases, look on the right side of the page in the small box next to the bold title of the article.

Week 1 Resources

Blue Video Play Button      

      Video to Watch:


Video Title: Empathy: The Human Connection to Patient Care
Created by: Cleveland Clinic
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 4:23 mins

 

Week 2 Resources

To access these articles, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Abramson, J. S., & Mizrahi, T. (2003). Understanding collaboration between social workers and physicians. Social Work in Health Care, 37(2), 71-100. 

 

Conlon, A. & Aldredge, P. A. (2013). Department of Health and Human Services changes: Implications for hospital social workers. Health & Social Work, 38(1), 19-27.

 

Craig, S. L., & Muskat, B. (2013). Bouncers, brokers, and glue: The self-described roles of social workers in urban hospitals. Health & Social Work, 38(1), 7-16. 

 

Gregorian, C. (2005). A career in hospital social work: Do you have what it takes? Social Work in Health Care, 40(3), 1-14.

 

Spitzer, W., Silverman, E., & Allen, K. (2015). From organizational awareness to organizational competency in health care social work: The importance of formulating a 'profession-in-environment' fit. Social Work in Health Care, 54(3), 193-211.

 

Winkelmann, G. (2016). Social work in health - The way ahead. Aotearoa New Zealand Social Work Review, 25(4), 85-88.

 


 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Video to Watch:

 


Video Title: Going Beyond Clinical Walls: Hats Matter
Created by: ICSIorg
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 2:38 mins

 

Week 3 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Berwick, D. M., Nolan, T. W., & Whittington, J. (2008). The triple aim: Care, health, and cost. Health Affairs, 27(3), 759-769. doi:10.1377/hlthaff.27.3.759

 

Reforming mental health in Minnesota [PowerPoint slides]. Retrieved from Minnesota Department of Human Services website: https://mn.gov/dhs/assets/Overview-Mental-Health-Presentation-ppt_tcm1053-250266.pdf

 

Reisch, M. (2012). The challenge of health care reform for hospital social work in the United States. Social Work in Health Care, 51(10), 873-893. http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/00981389.2012.721492

 


Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:

 


Yi, H. (2012, December 28). Frequent fliers [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.pbs.org/wnet/need-to-know/video/video-frequent-fliers/15892/

 

 

Video Title: A Healthy Tomorrow
Created by: ICSIorg
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 2:20 mins

 

 

Video Title: Unnatural Causes: In Sickness and in Wealth
Distributor: California Newsreel
Length: 57:20 mins

NOTE: This video is only available to registered students, faculty, and staff of the St. Scholastica Community. You will be required to login with your network username and password (the same username and password you use to login to Cor, Blackboard, and your CSS email).
 

 

Video Title: The YouToons Get Ready for Obamacare
Created by: Kaiser Family Foundation
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 6:52 mins

 

 

Video Title: The Future of Patient-Centered Care: David Moen at TEDxUMN
Created by: TEDx Talks
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 21:56 mins

 

Week 4 Resources

To access this article, click on the citation. You will be prompted for your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Berwick, D. M. (2009). What 'patient-centered' should mean: Confessions of an extremist. Health Affairs, 28(4), 555-565. doi:10.1377/hlthaff.28.4.w555

 

Bourbeau, J. (2008). Clinical decision processes and patient engagement in self-management. Disease Management & Health Outcomes, 16(5), 327-333.

 

Elwyn, G., Dehlendorf, C., Epstein, R. M., Marrin, K., White, J., & Frosch, D. L. (2014). Shared decision making and motivational interviewing: Achieving patient-centered care across the spectrum of health care problems. Annals of Family Medicine, 12(3), 270-275. doi:10.1370/afm.1615

 

Gutheil, I. A., & Heyman, J. C. (2005). Communication between older people and their health care agents: Results of an interventionHealth & Social Work, 30(2), 107-116.

 

Mahoney, K. J. (2011). Person-centered planning and participant decision making. Health & Social Work, 36(3), 233-236. 

 

Moore, P. M., Rivera Mercado, S., Grez Artigues, M., & Lawrie, T. A. (2013). Communication skills training for healthcare professionals working with people who have cancer. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2013(3), 1-101.

 

Tesfa, A., Kaplan, K. O., Meyer, M. L., & Coachman, D. M. (2008). Roles and responsibilities of health care agents: Views of patients and agents. Journal of Gerontological Nursing, 34(6), 8-14. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD003751.pub3

 

 


Blue Video Play Button      

      Videos to Watch:

 


 

Hagen, B. (n.d.). Conducting a mental status examination [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.psychotherapy.net/

 

Sommers-Flanagan, J., & Sommers-Flanagan, R. (n.d.). Clinical interviewing: Intake, assessment & therapeutic alliance [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.psychotherapy.net/

 

Video Title: Ernesto Sirolli: Want to help someone? Shut up and Listen!
Created by: TED Talks
License: Standard YouTube
Length: 17:09 mins

 

 

Video Title: Motivational interviewing: An M. I. Learning Resource Clip
Created by: MINT - Motivational Interviewing
Length: 7:46 mins

 


 

Supplemental Worksheets:


Look Up Your Library Barcode Number

Don't know your library barcode number?

You can find it here:

Library Barcode Number Look-Up