Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GLBTQI and Ally Resources: Journals

A brief guide to books, periodicals, av and web resources on GLBTQI issues.

Tables of Contents

The links below lead to tables of contents for titles focusing on GLBT issues:

The Advocate
Articles, commentary, personality profiles, reviews and book reviews representing a wide variety of gay and lesbian ideas and perspectives.

Curve
Covers the latest in lesbian-related celebrity interviews, news, politics, pop culture, style, travel, social issues and entertainment.

The Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
A quarterly scholarly journal that provides a forum for the discussion of issues and ideas of importance to lesbians and gay men worldwide, and publishes the work of the best gay and lesbian writers and thinkers. Also aims to educate the public on gay and lesbian topics. Includes essays, reviews and poetry.

Lesbian News
Magazine for the lesbian community including news of note, feature articles, commentary, profiles, music, book and movie reviews. Focuses on relationships, lifestyle, social interaction and identity, health, prominant figures, and political issues.


Databases

Since GLBTQI issues are discussed in many disciplines, you might consider searching against one or more of the Library's multi-discipline journal databases:

Academic Search Premier

Expanded Academic ASAP

Solar

Some of the discipline-specific journal databases where you might find articles on GLBTQI issues include:

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Education Index (Wilson)

LION (Literature Online)

Medline with Full Text

PsycINFO

SocIndex