Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CTA 4404 - Public Relations: Articles

Library resources to help with assignments in this course

Articles in Databases

Reference Desk Help

The CSS Library has many online databases to help you with your research. They contain primarily articles from periodicals such as journals. There are  two types of databases including general databases, which contain articles on all types of topics and specialized ones designed for a specific subject  area such as nursing, education,  psychology, business, etc.

 If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in using your Novell username and password - the same as what you use for Blackboard, COR, and  your CSS Gmail. All databases to which the CSS Library subscribes      

How to Cite Articles

Finding Full-Text

If you cannot find the full-text to the article you are looking for in the database you are searching, try looking in the 
A to Z: Find Online & Print Journals list.

This will search both the CSS print subscriptions and all the CSS databases.

NOTE: be sure to search for the JOURNAL title NOT the article title!!

Instructions for finding the full-text of an article

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Email GraphicInterlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.


How does it work?
Find the book, video or other article you want. Check to make sure the CSS Library does not have it or have online access to it. Then, fill out an online form. 

Online Databases to Find Articles

For individual journal titles, click on the links to these databases in order to do an advanced search where you can combine the title of the journal and your topic to find the full-text of the articles. Links to instructions for these databases are also given.


Public Relations Review  Science Direct  1995 to present  Instructions
Public Relations Tactics  Business Source Complete  1994 to present  Instructions
Journal of Public Relations Research   Business Source Complete    1992 - 2009      Instructions
Wired  LexisNexis Academic   2008 to present  Instructions
Journal of Applied Communication Research Communication & Mass Media Complete 1981 - 2009 Instructions
Journal of Public Affairs  Business Source Complete   2001 - 2009  Instructions
Public Affairs Quarterly  Access to full-text only through Interlibrary Loan  Instructions
The Public Relations Journal   Access to full-text only through InterLibrary Loan  Instructions


Newspaper Databases:
Need articles from newspapers? Check these newspaper databases to get the fulltext from national and regional newspapers, including New York Times, Washington Post, Duluth News Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, etc.

Access World News - Full-text, English language translations of over 900 newspapers published outside of the United States.

America's Newspapers - Full-text of over 600 American newspapers including the Duluth News-Tribune and the St. Paul Pioneer Press. Instructions

ProQuest Newstand Complete - Access to indexing and full-text of over 300 newspapers including the Minneapolis Star-Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and The New York Times Book Review. Instructions

General Databases

Instructions for Databases