Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Services: Articles

Library resources available for Career Services

Accessing Databases

To access the Library's online databases including Business Source Premier, Learning Express Library, and its general and specialized databases, you need to either be at the Duluth campus or from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your current CSS username and password that you also use for Blackboard, COR, and your CSS Gmail.

If you are an alum, unfortunately you cannot access the databases from off-campus. That said, you could contact your local public library to see what databases they have and how you may access them. If you are in Minnesota, they will have some of the same databases available that the CSS Library has.

Company Information

If you want to know more about a company such as in preparation for an interview and that company is publically traded (large companies like Target, 3M, etc. usually are), then you can find a 20+ document called a Datamonitor Report through using the database Business Source Premier.  

These annual reports will have names of key employees, history of the company, its revenue, major products and services, and a SWOT (strength, weaknesses, opportunities and threats) analysis of the company.

To find this report, follow these steps:
1. Go to Business Source Premier .
2. Click on Company Profiles located at the top in the blue banner.
3. Type in the name of the company you are interested in.
4. Click on MarketLine Report.

Learning Express Library

General Databases

Finding Full-Text

If you cannot find the full-text to the article you are looking for in the database you are searching, try looking in the 
A to Z: Find Online & Print Journals list.

This will search both the CSS print subscriptions and all the CSS databases.

NOTE: be sure to search for the JOURNAL title NOT the article title!!

Instructions for finding the full-text of an article

Trade Publications

Trade publications are magazines dedicated to careers. These are great resources to learn about current issues and topics of the profession, current job opportunities, career options, effects of legislation such as Health Care Reform on the profession, guidelines for certification, job ads, ads for equipment and books related to the profession and more! 

Often they are part of the dues for being a member of a specific trade organization. Here are some titles of magazines for health-related professions:

Frontiers of Health Services Management
Reflections on Nursing Leadership
American Journal of Nursing
The American Nurse
Home Healthcare Nurse
The Journal of Nursing Administration (JONA)
OT Practice
PT in Motion

Athletic Therapy Today 

Specialized Databases

*If you are accessing these from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in using your Novell username and password - the same one you use for Blackboard and for your CSS Gmail. Unfortunately it is only available to current students. Alumni are welcome to come to the Library and use the freely available public computer terminals to access the databases.


Health Sciences:
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
Medline with Full-Text
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health

ProQuest Medical Library
Health & Wellness Resource Center
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
PubMed


Psychology and Social Work:
SocINDEX with Full-Text
PsycINFO
PsychiatryOnline

Science:
American Chemical Society Publications
Science Direct Journals


Education: Wilson Education Index
Management: Business Source Premier
Communication: Communication & Mass Media Complete