Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Services: Reference

Library resources available for Career Services

Reference Collection

CSS Reference CollecitonThe CSS Reference Collection includes useful encyclopedias, statistics, handbooks, and subject dictionaries all which help you decide on a topic, narrow it, and begin researching it.

Now they are even easier to use as you can search online for them using Reference Universe or through our other online encyclopedia collections especially Credo. You can also use our SCANNX to scan the articles from books here in print and then email or print them or even zap them to your smart phone!

Since the online collections and titles are limited to the CSS population, you will need to login to these reference collections using your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password that is used to login to the CSS email or Brightspace.

Reference Books for Careers in Health Sciences

Occupational Outlook Handbook
This standard reference source from the U.S. Department of Labor can be used to find out about hundred of different jobs. Individual entries from the handbook are used throughout this guide.

 

CTI Career Search
Good web site with information on a variety of professions. Entries for individual jobs include salary information and expected job growth. Many of the entries have accompanying video clips.

Career Opportunities in Health Care
This print work is available in our reference collection at Ref. R690.F54 2007

Career in Health Care Book

Career Opportunities in Health Care Management
This print work is available in our reference collection at Ref. RA971.B893 2010

Career Opportunities Book

Health Care Job Explosion
This print work is available in our reference collection at Ref. R690.D36 2006

Health Care Job Explosion Book 

Health Care: An All-in-One Guide to Navigating Toward a New Career [E-book]
 

Book cover for Health Care

Barron's Guide to Medial and Dental Schools
This print work is available in our reference collection at Ref. R690.F54 2007

Business North Directory

Cover of 2014 Business NorthBusiness North: Directory of Business and Industry lists businesses in the Duluth area, which is helpful when searching for careers and networking with employers.

As The College of St. Scholastica has paid for this subscription, only current students and CSS alumni may use the links provided in this LibGuide.

Please contact Heidi Johnson in the Library (hjohnso2@css.edu) or Career Services (careers@css.edu or 218-723-6085) during regular business hours to receive the password you will be prompted for when you click on a link.