Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Full Text
If you cannot find the full text to the article you are looking for in the database you are searching, try looking in the A to Z: Find Online & Print Journals list. This site will search all of the CSS databases for full text and it checks to see what journals the CSS Library subscribes to.
Journals, A to Z - NOTE: be sure to search for the JOURNAL title NOT the article title!!
Instructions - Step-by-step instructions for using the A to Z list.
Article Databases - Business & Management
The CSS Library has several databases to help you with your research. Common business and management databases to use for your research are as follows:
Business Source Ultimate
Broadest coverage for business and management. Includes academic journals, trade publications, and company information.
Business Insights: Global
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports.
Gale OneFile: Business
Coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy. Includes business theory and practice.
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship
Insights, tips, strengths, and success stories from over 500 journals and magazines.
Health Business Elite
Journal coverage of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Regional Business News
News from major metropolitan markets across the United States.
Science Direct Journals
Scholarly journals from a variety of different science and social science disciplines, including business, management, accounting, decision sciences, economics, econometrics, and finance.
Current stock and investment information. Only 3 users may access this database at one time.
Other Article Databases
Academic Search Premier
General database with over 180,000+ current academic titles.
Gale Academic OneFile
Another general database covering topics on a wide variety of topics.
Search multiple databases and resources all at once. Think Google, but only for Library stuff!
Most of your topics will overlap other fields, which is why it is important to check the databases in other fields to make sure you have not missed any important information!
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Covers almost 800 journals in communication and mass media studies.
Dissertations & Theses @ The College of St. Scholastica
Search for final applied projects, capstones, theses, and other projects from other CSS students.
Best for topics about education or training.
Films on Demand
Streaming videos about psychology and social issues.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science
800 journals and periodicals, covering the complete range of fields related to technology.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Gale OneFile: Economics & Theory
A selection of fulltext journals and magazines featured in EconLit.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy
Journals and reference books on soil science, agronomy, food, crop growing, the environment, and more.
Gale Onefile: Gender Studies
Scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac
Indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals.
Gale OneFile: Vocations & Careers
Over 300 industry journals and magazines.
IGI Global Research
Hundreds of fulltext e-reference books in the field of computers in health sciences, medicine, and business.
IGI Info-Sci Videos
Streaming video in the fields of business, computer science, health sciences, and education.
Foreign language database. Great for all students, especially those who will study abroad.
Medical and health science database.
Premier database for psychology. Includes indexing of journals, books, and dissertations.
Premier medical database from the National Library of Medicine.
SocINDEX with Full-Text
Sociology and Social Work database.
SPORTDiscus with Full-Text
Covers sports-medicine journals.
Types of Periodicals
Different types of periodicals have different types of information and are targeting different audiences.
What are the differences between the most commonly used the periodicals?
Academic (Scholarly) Journals
- Written by scholars.
- Few photographs or advertisements.
- Authors are easily identifiable, credentials are given.
- Does not attempt to entertain.
- Written by journalists for general public.
- Usually many photographs.
- Authors may be hard to identify.
- Attempts to entertain.
Want to learn more about different Types of Periodicals?
Need articles from newspapers? Check these newspaper databases to get the fulltext from national, regional, and international newspapers, including New York Times, Washington Post, Duluth News Tribune, and more!
Access World News
Fulltext, English language translations of over 900 newspapers published outside the US.
Fulltext of over 600 American newspapers, including the Duluth News Tribune and the St. Paul Pioneer Press.
Duluth News Tribune
Fulltext of Duluth's paper from 1996 to the present.
Gale OneFile: Newstand
Over 1,100 newspapers plus images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
National and international newspapers, with some coverage dating back to 1980.
New York Times
National, regional, and local newspapers with some coverage dating back to 1980. Also, includes Hispanic newspapers, and transcripts and video from CBS new magazine, and 60 Minutes.
Wall Street Journal
Coverage from 1984-present
Coverage from 1987-present