Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work: Reference

Use the following guide to locate print and electronic resources in Social Work at the College of St. Scholastica Library.

Reference Materials

Reference Collection at the CSS LibraryThe Library has many reference materials, which are helpful when you are starting your research as they give background information in a concise, authoritative, intuitive way.

There are general encyclopedias that contain all kinds of information as well as subject encyclopedias, which focus on one particular subject such as religion, nursing, education, or management. For example, there is The Encyclopedia of Gambling in America and The Dictionary of Social Work Terms. These reference books can help you select a topic and also narrow your topic down so you can focus on one aspect of it. 

There are two ways to access reference materials. The first is by coming to the Library and using the ones here in print. These books cannot be checked out, but you can photocopy their pages. The second way is by looking at those we have available online. 

Reference Books Here in Print

The following list of encyclopedias is just some of what is available in the CSS Library's Reference Collection located on the first floor of the Library:

Credo Reference

Credo has over 924 dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources including subject guides and links to other related resources from the CSS Library.

Credo Reference

Instructions on how to use Credo Reference

Reference Universe

Search the CSS Library's reference collection for your topic by using Reference Universe.

This database will direct you to articles within the encyclopedias and other reference sources in the print collection at CSS, as well  our online reference collections.

Instructions on how to use Reference Universe

How to Cite an Encyclopedia Article

Related Guides