Library Browser: Reference Books

This comprehensive and authoritative one-stop resource examines the issue of food insecurity in the United States, including the various economic, social, political, and cultural factors that drive the problem.Social welfare agencies, schools, food banks, and other organizations have all put forth efforts to combat food insecurity, but it remains a serious risk for millions of poor Americans today. Food Insecurity: A Reference Handbook examines the reasons why food insecurity remains such a longstanding problem in American society.Beginning with a history of food insecurity from the country's origins to the present day, the book also delves into the problems and controversies related to food insecurity, such as urban food deserts, substance abuse impacts, nutrition education, and income inequality. One of the most valuable aspects of the book is that it surveys the history of food insecurity in a manner that helps the reader identify key issues in an easy-to-understand fashion. The book's Perspectives chapter presents a broad range of voices on various facets of food insecurity, providing crucial, diverse perspectives to round out the coverage and expertise of the authors.

First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Though he wrote 400 years ago, Shakespeare is still very much alive today. This vast encyclopedia attests to that fact through hundreds of entries chronicling the presence of the Bard in contemporary popular culture, including radio, film, television, and other media to which his works have been adapted. Each section begins with an overview essay, followed by entries on individual plays, including stage histories and biographies of actors and directors. Thus the encyclopedia covers the full range of Shakespeare's presence in popular culture, with an emphasis on the past hundred years. It also offers a selected, general bibliography and an extensive index. Students will find this a handy reference for comparing Shakespeare's plays to modern adaptations of them, while general readers will treasure it as a guide to Shakespeare's enduring legacy. Conveniently arranged in sections on types of adaptations, and then on particular plays. Includes hundreds of entries on adaptations, performers, directors, and related topics. Covers the presence of Shakespeare throughout film, television, and popular culture. Offers a selected, general bibliography of major works on Shakespeare in popular culture. Includes an extensive index. Encourages students to discover Shakespeare through popular culture. Helps students compare and contrast Shakespeare's plays with modern adaptations. Develops student research skills. Fosters an appreciation of Shakespeare's enduring contribution to civilization. Supports the literature curriculum by overviewing the works of the central canonical author.

Features synopses of works, character descriptions, biographies of contemporaries, and explanations of literary terms and place names.

A magnificently illustrated showcase of the work of 300 women photographers from all over the world, from the invention of the medium to the dawn of the 21st century. As in many fields of art history, the work of women photographers has often been overlooked, and few of their names are now widely recognized. However, women were closely involved in all major photography movements of the 19th and 20th centuries, and have used the camera as an extraordinary tool for emancipation and experimentation. These are artists who never stopped documenting, questioning and transforming the world, breaking down social boundaries, challenging gender roles and expressing their imagination and sexuality. To capture the diversity of this global body of work, Luce Lebart and Marie Robert have invited 160 international women writers to contribute to this volume, which is a bold and beautifully illustrated manifesto as well as an invaluable work of reference.