BookeBook from NetLibraryEmailEncyclopediaFull Text Article from DatabaseJournal ArticleMagazine ArticleMaster's Thesis or ProjectMovieNewspaper ArticleTable in Statistical Abstract of USVariationsWeb Page
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Citation Help for APA, 5th Edition 

Examples, explanations, links to more help, EndNote, turnitin all to help you cite your sources in the APA style, 5th edition
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.css.edu/APA5thEd  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedia             Print Page
  
 

Editors?

Example:
Gibbs, J. T., & Huang, L. N. (Eds.). (2007). Children of color: Psychological interventions with minority youth. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Explanation:
Place the word Eds. followed by a period in parentheses also followed by a period after the editor(s) name(s).

 

Edition?

Example:
Smith, S. (2008). Clinical nursing skills: Basic to advanced skills (7th ed.). Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson Prentice Hall.

Explanation:
Place the edition number in parentheses after the book title. Follow by ed. and a period outside the parentheses. There is no period after the book title.

 

Multiple Authors?

Example:
McGill, I., Glenn, J. K. & Brockbank, A. (2004). The action learning handbook: Powerful techniques for education, professional 
development and 
training. New York: Routledge Falmer.

Explanation:
List each author last name first followed by the initials for the first and middle names followed by a comma. Insert an amperstand (&) before the last author.

 

No author?

Example with an author:
Lustig, T. (2007, February). Gutenberg: First modern inkmaker? The inventor of movable
type probably also created the first workable printing ink. Graphic Arts Monthly 74, 53.

If this article did not have an author it would be cited as:
Gutenberg: First modern inkmaker? The inventor of movable type probably also created
the first workable printing ink. (2007, February). Graphic Arts Monthly 74, 53.

Explanation:
Start with the name of the article, book, or web page if no author is given.

 
 

Example

Lu, M. C., & Bragonier, J. R. (2002). Maternal and child health. In Encyclopedia of public

   health
(Vol. 3, pp. 729-735). New York: Macmillan.

 

Explanation

Author of the article: Lu, M. C., & Bragonier, J. R.
Last name first. First and middle name always represented by initials. Does your article have
multiple authors?
NOTE: If your article does not list an author, begin with the title of the article.

Year of publication: (2002).
Date the encyclopedia set was published. Examine the title page or the title page verso (backside) to determine the date of publication. Place in parentheses with a period following.

Title & subtitle of the article: Maternal and child health.
Title and subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize only the first word of the title and subtitle, and any proper nouns. End with a period.

Title & subtitle of the encyclopedia: In Encyclopedia of public health.
Include the word "In" before the title. Title and subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize only the first word of title and subtitle, and any proper nouns. Italicize title and subtitle and end with a period.

Volume and page numbers: (Vol. 3, pp. 729-735).
Volume number of encyclopedia the article appears in and the page numbers. Use p. if the article is one page in length, pp. if it is more than one. Place in parentheses. Close with a period.

Place of publication: New York:
For these U.S. cities, use the city name alone: Baltimore, Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco. For all others, add the standard postal abbreviations for states. Separate place from publisher with a colon. If more than one city is given, use the first only. Separate from publisher with a colon.

Publisher: Macmillan.
Shorten publisher's name to most concise form. End the citation with a period.

NOTE: For more information on encyclopedia citations, see page 254 in the 5th edition of the APA manual.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait