Duluth News-Tribune @ The College of St. Scholastica Library: Welcome

Access for CSS community members to the full-text content of the Duluth News-Tribune.

The Duluth News Tribune

The online edition of the Duluth News-Tribune contains the current day's paper and a free "archive" of stories from the last seven days. Articles older than 7 days must be paid for. CSS community members may access DNT content at no charge by using the online access tabs on this page.

For members of the CSS community, the full-text of Duluth News-Tribune from November 1995 to the present is available through America's Newspapers. Duluth community members have access to America's Newspapers (NewsBank) through the Duluth Public Library.

CSS community members also have access to the full-text of the Duluth News-Tribune from 1881-1922 through the Minnesota Historical Newspaper Collection.

The Duluth Public Library holds the complete run of the Duluth News Tribune and the Duluth Evening Herald on microfilm.

The Duluth Public Library has maintained "clipping" files for years - these are a simple, low-tech form of information organization. Articles of interest on a a topic are literally clipped out of the newspaper and kept in files.

Clipping Files & Industry Scrapbooks
Clipping files (or vertical files) are scrapbooks which have been compiled by librarians at the Duluth Public Library for over fifty years. Topics are related primarily to Duluth, with limited coverage of St. Louis County, Minnesota, and the Lake Superior Region. Subject matter can range from the cost of living to celebrities who have visited Duluth to the current state of the zebra mussel. Please ask for assistance at the Information Services Desk on the second floor.

Clipping files give immediate access to information on local topics and often are the only readily available access to local newspaper articles previous to 1978 (when librarians began indexing the Duluth News-Tribune). However, they should not be considered definitive. Items are placed loose in folders and these can be damaged or lost. They can, however, provide an important stepping stone to further research.

Essentially the same as the clipping files, the Industry Scrapbooks concentrate on local and regional businesses. Clippings are pasted onto paper and stored in three-ring binders. As with the clipping files, they are dependent on articles appearing in local papers and magazines. Some local businesses may not appear simply because nothing has been published about them. An index is available to help locate the appropriate binder. Please ask for assistance at the Information Services Desk on the second floor.

Biography Files
The Duluth Public Library maintains biography files on people from or with connections to the Duluth area and the state of Minnesota. Content can be as simple as an obituary or as detailed as several thick folders on someone such as Jeno Paulucci. Please ask for assistance at the Information Services Desk on the second floor.

Obituaries began appearing in the Duluth News-Tribune Index in the second half of 1986. In 1988 obituaries moved to the personal name index located in the back of each year's second volume.

The Duluth Public Library now features The Obituary Index,  an online version of this index, going back to 1960.

If you are looking for a pre-1960 obituary, it is best to know the exact date of death. Your best place to start is the St. Louis County, Minnesota Death Records Index. There is also a Minnesota Death Index.

The following is a list of Duluth newspapers available on microfilm at the Duluth Public Library. A link is provided if the paper is available in the Minnesota Historical Newspaper Collection. All papers are available on microfilm at the Duluth Public Library.

                            Commonwealth                       1892 - 1896
  Daily News       1886 - 1892
  Daily Tribune 1881 - 1892
  Duluth Budgeteer 1956 - date
  Duluth Daily Star 1907 - 1909
  Duluth Minnesotan 1869 - 1878
  Guild Striker 1938 - 1938
  Labor World 1896 - date
  Lake Superior News    1878 - 1881
  Rip-Saw 1917 - 1924
  Truth 1917 - 1923
  Weekly Herald 1889 - 1917
  Weekly Tribune 1870 - 1918
Loading