CSSLibraryGuides: The World of the Eighteenth Century (for English Majors): Costume

Ladies of Fashion

French Fashion

"French Women, 18th Century," from A. Racinet's Historical Costumes, Vol. V. Paris: 1888.

Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.

Encyclopedia of Clothing & Fashion
Call Number: Ref. GT507 .E53 2005
3 volumes. Scholarly articles. Look for regional/country articles.
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
Call Number: Ref. GT507 .E54 2010
10 volumes. Scholarly set, but not arranged for easy use, i.e. "costume in the 18th century." Browse the table of contents in the front of each volume for clues as to what you might find. Vols. 8 & 9 cover Europe.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History
Call Number: Ref. GT507 .G74 2008
3 volumes. See Volume II, 1501-1800.
The Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes
Call Number: Ref. GT510 .R3313 1988
Color plates of costume - world-wide coverage, from the ancient world to the 1880's.
The Encyclopedia of World Costume
Call Number: Ref. GT507 .Y37
Black & white drawing of costume - world-wide coverage, all time periods.
Encyclopedia of Dress, or, Dictionary of Dress: Including Notices of Contemporaneous Fashions on the Continent ...
Call Number: Ref. GT510 .P5. This 1879 set is in bad shape, so please treat it gently.
Clothing Through American History: The British Colonial Era
Call Number: Ref. GT607 .S735 2013
Clothing Through American History: The Federal Era through Antebellum, 1786-1860
Call Number: Ref. GT607 .W37 2010
Children's Costumes: The Complete Historical Sourcebook
Call Number: Ref. GT1730 .P43x 2009

Reference Universe searches the table of contents & indexes of recent print and electronic encyclopedias in the CSS Reference Collection.