CSSLibraryGuides: The World of the Eighteenth Century (for English Majors): Music

The Concert

Concert of Music by Jean-Philippe Rameau, 1683-1764, French Composer, to Celebrate [the] Marriage of the Dauphin in 1741 (18th century French engraving).

Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.

Music in the 18th Century

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Call Number: Ref. ML100 .G16
10 volumes. Volumes arranged by countries within a geographical area. While no smoking gun (i.e. Italian music in the 18th century) the reader receives a scholarly overview of a country's musical history.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. ML100 .N48 2000
29 volumes. One of the definitive scholarly resources on music, Grove's offers country entries on music that are broken down by time period. The New Grove Dictionary of Music is also available online as part of Oxford Music Online.
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Call Number: Ref. ML102 .I5 N48
International & historical coverage of musical instruments & their makers.
The Oxford History of Western Music
Call Number: Ref. ML160 .T18 2005
6 volumes. Scholarly, focused articles on specific topics (as opposed to an overview). See Vol. 2 for the 17th & 18th centuries.

NAXOS Streaming Music

Streaming classical music. Over 1.2 million tracks of music and growing daily!

NAXOS
NAXOS is limited to 5 users at one time.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches the table of contents & indexes of recent print and electronic encyclopedias in the CSS Reference Collection.

Reference Universe