CSSLibraryGuides: The World of the Eighteenth Century (for English Majors): Art & Architecture

Judith

The Angel Inspires Judith (to Kill Holofernes), by Gian Giuseppe Dal Sole (18th Century)

Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches the table of contents & indexes of recent print and electronic encyclopedias in the CSS Reference Collection.

Reference Universe

Art & Architecture in the 18th Century

The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300 - 1900s
Call Number: Ref. BL721 .R45 1993
Arranged by mythological subject, then artists and their works are listed chronologically within the subject.
Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Ref. N31 .D5 1996
34 volumes. Long, scholarly articles on all aspects of art-related fields.
Illustrated Dictionary of Art & Architecture
Ref. NA31 .B83 2002
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture, 3rd edition
Call Number: Ref. NA31 .B83 2012
A fun guide for anyone who likes to look at buildings. All time periods.
Historic Architecture Sourcebook
Call Number: Ref. NA31 .H56
The Visual Dictionary of Buildings
Call Number: Ref. NA31 .V57 1992
The Elements of Style: A Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details from 1485 to the Present
Call Number: Ref. NA2850 .E44 1991
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through American History
Call Number: Ref. NA7205 .G745 2008
4 volumes. See Vol. 1 for the 18th century.
The Anglicized and Illustrated Dictionary of Interior Design
Call Number: Ref. NK1165 .R33 2013
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: Ref. NX440 .A787 2005
5 volumes. Vol. 4 & 5 of this set focus on Europe from 814 A.D. - 1600 A.D. Scholarly articles with bibliographies.

Art from AMIG

Art Museum Image Gallery is a digital archive of 165,000 + images of the decorative and fine arts, covering cultures world-wide, through a wide rand of time periods.

Tip: Add "18th" to your search string to narrow results to the 18th century.

Art Museum Image Gallery