CSSLibraryGuides: Medieval & Renaissance Resources in the CSS Reference Collection: Languages

Jerome at Work

St. Jerome in the Wilderness Translating the Bible [from Greek to Latin], etching by Strada Vespasiano, (1582-1622).

Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.

Languages

Oxford Latin Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PA 2365 .E5 O9 1982
Oxford Latin Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PA2365.E5 O9 2012
2 volumes.
Medieval Latin : An Introduction and Bibliographical Guide
1996.
Latin for the Illiterati
Call Number: Ref. PA2365 .E5 S76 1995
More Latin for the Illiterati
Call Number: Ref. PA2365 .E5 S77 1999
Dwelly's Illustrated Gaelic to English Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PB1591 .D8 1994
Gaelic Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PB1591 .M29 1979
The Complete Welsh-English, English-Welsh Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PB2191 .E685 1997
Dictionaire Provence-Francais, Francais-Provencal
Call Number: Ref. PC3376 .A9 1991
Catalan Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PC 3891 .C38 1994
Old Icelandic Dictionary. (i.e. Norse)
Call Number: Ref. PD 2379 .Z6 1967
An Anglo-Saxon Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PE 279 .B5x
An Anglo-Saxon Dictionary: Supplement
Call Number: Ref. PE279 .B5x Suppl.
Strattmann's Middle-English Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PE675 .S7
The Middle English Dictionary
Created at the University of Michigan.
The Concise Scots Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PE2102 .W37x 1988
Dictionary of English Manuscript Terminology, 1450 - 2000
2008.

The OED

The Oxford English Dictionary is definitive history of the English language. The multi-volume print set will no longer be published, with all updates now occurring in the online version.

Oxford English Dictionary

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.

Reference Universe