Skip to main content

Citation Help for MLA, 8th Edition: Encyclopedia

No author?

Example with an author:
Lustig, T. Gutenberg: First modern inkmaker? The inventor of movable type probably also created the first workable printing ink. Spiral, 2015.

If this article did not have an author it would be cited as:
Gutenberg: First Modern Inkmaker? The Inventor of Movable Type Probably Also Created the First Workable Printing Ink. Spiral, 2015.

Explanation:
Start with the name of the article, book, or web page if no author is given.

Example

Jones, Malcom. "Scatology." Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends,

     Tales, Beliefs, and Customs. Edited by Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow,

     2nd ed., vol. 3, ABC-CLIO, 2016.

OR FULL-TEXT FROM AN ONLINE DATABASE LIKE CREDO:

Jones, Malcom. "Scatology." Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends,

     Tales, Beliefs, and Customs. Edited by Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow,

     2nd ed., vol. 3, ABC-CLIO, 2016. Credo Reference, https://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://

     search.credoreference.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=AN=116756626&site=eds-live

     &scope=site. Accessed 19 Mar. 2017.

Explanation

Author of the article: Jones, Malcom.
Last name of the author, then the complete spelling of the first and middle names. Avoid initials, if possible.If your article does not list an author, begin with the title of the article. End with a period.

Title & subtitle of the article: "Scatology."
The title & subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize the first and last words of the title and subtitle, and all proper nouns and important words. Place article title & subtitle in quotations and end with a period.

Title & subtitle of the encyclopedia: Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs.
The title & subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize the first and last words of the title and subtitle, and all proper nouns and important words. Italicize encyclopedia title & subtitle and end with a period

Editor or editors of the encyclopedia: Edited by Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow,
Editor or editors are indicated by the words Edited by preceding their name or names. The name is presented with the first name followed by the last (this is the reverse of the traditional MLA form). End with a comma..

Edition of the encyclopedia: 2nd ed.,
If the encyclopedia is a 2nd edition, 3rd, etc., give the edition number followed by the abbreviation ed. and end with a comma.

Volume number: vol. 3,
If the encyclopedia has more than one volume, give the volume number you used for this entry. Precede the number by the abbreviation vol. and then the number followed by a comma.

Publisher: ABC-CLIO,
Place a comma after the publisher's name to separate it from the year of publication. Place of publication is optional and if included would precede the publisher separated by a comma.

Year of publication: 2016.
List the year of publication which appears on the title page or the title page verso (back side of title page). End citation with a period.

If you got the full-text from an online database like Credo, continue your citation with:

Database: Credo Reference,
Include the name of the database you used to find the full-text of the article.
Put in Italics and end with a comma.

Website Address:  https://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/login.aspx?
direct=true&db=bth&AN=116756626&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Follow website address with a period.

Access Date: Accessed 19 Mar. 2017. 
Day, month, and year you viewed the article preceded by the word Accessed.
Use proper abbreviation for months. End citation with a period.

[The above information is based on MLA Handbook  8th edition]

Editors?

Example:
Gibbs, Janet Trist. Children of Color: Psychological Interventions With Minority Youth. Edited by John C. Cowl, Jossey-Bass, 2015.

Explanation:
Place the words Edited by before the editor's name. Put a comma after the editor's name.

Edition?

Example:
Smith, Susan. Clinical Skills: Basic to Advanced Skills. 7th ed., Pearson Prentice Hall, 2015.

Explanation:
Place the edition number after the book title. Follow by ed.,