Skip to main content

Citation Help for APA, 6th Edition: Full Text Article from Database

Help with common issues and questions with APA 6th ed. Citation Style.

Example

DOI Example:

Ramchandani, P., Wiggs, L., & Stores, G. (2008). A systematic review of treatments for

   settling problems and night waking in young children.
BMJ: British Medical Journal,

   320, 209-213. doi:10.1136/bmj.320.7229.209

No DOI Example:

Ballard, S. D., March, G., & Sand, J. K. (2009). Creation of a research community in a K-12 school research and evidence

     based practice. Evidence Based Library and Information Practice, 4(2), 8-36. Retrieved from

     http://ejournals.library.ualberta.ca/index.php/EBLIP/index

Explanation

Citing an article you got full-text from an online database or the Internet needs to have additional information at the end of the citation, which shows where you retrieved it. This is so that your professor or anyone who wants to track down the article you cited can know where to find it.

Online databases include ones such as Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Expanded Academic ASAP, JSTOR, PsycINFO, Education Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text and so on that are offered through the Library.

The first part of the citation will be the same as what you would do for a print article. See the appropriate APA citation page for this part. (Newspaper, Magazine, Journal)

The second part of the citation includes information on where you found the article including:

Article with DOI Number:

DOI Number: doi:10.1136/bmj.320.7229.209
First, check to see if there is a DOI number in the record of the article. If not, look to see if the DOI is listed in this international database http://www.crossref.org/ 

If you locate the DOI number, add "doi:" and the number. Be sure to include a colon after "doi" and a space between the colon and the number. If there is no DOI number, then see the Retrieval statement.

Article without DOI Number:

Retrieval Statement: Retrieved from http://ejournals.library.ualberta.ca/index.php/EBLIP/index
This retrieval statement applies to articles found in online databases or on the Internet. Begin with "Retrieved from". Then add the web address from the journal homepage. You can find most journal homepages by searching the journal title name in Google or your favorite search engine.


More Information: See pages 187-192 & pages 198-202 in the 6th edition of the APA Manual.