Skip to main content

Citation Help for APA, 6th Edition: Encyclopedia

Help with common issues and questions with APA 6th ed. Citation Style.

Editors?

Example:
Gibbs, J. T., & Huang, L. N. (Eds.). (2007). Children of color: Psychological interventions with minority youth. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.

Explanation:
Place the word Eds. followed by a period in parentheses also followed by a period after the editor(s) name(s).


Only One Editor?
Instead of Eds., use Ed. follow-up with a period, place in parentheses, and end with a period after the editor's name.

Example:
Avery, E. F. (Ed.). (2003). Assessing student outcomes for information literacy instruction. Chicago, IL: American Library Association.

More information: See p. 184 in the APA Manual 6th Edition for further explanation.

Edition?

Example:
Smith, S. (2008). Clinical nursing skills: Basic to advanced skills (7th ed.). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall.

Explanation:
Place the edition number in parentheses after the book title. Follow by ed. and a period outside the parentheses. There is no period after the book title.

Multiple Authors?

Example:
McGill, I., Glenn, J. K., & Brockbank, A. (2004). The action learning handbook: Powerful techniques for education, professional 
development and 
training. New York, NY: Routledge Falmer.

Explanation:
List each author last name first followed by the initials for the first and middle names followed by a comma. Insert an amperstand (&) before the last author.


Eight or More Authors?
List the first six authors' names, then insert three ellipses, and add the last author's name.

Example:
Gilbert, J. R., Smith, J. D., Johnson, R. S., Anderson, A., Plath, S., Martin, G., . . . White, N. (2004). Choosing a title (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Unnamed  Publishing.

No author?

Example:
The bluebook: A uniform system of citation (18th ed.). (2005). Cambridge, MA: Harvard Law Review Association.

Explanation:
When there is no author move the title to the author spot. Italicize title and end with a period. Follow title with publication date and publication information.

More information: See p. 184 in the APA Manual 6th Edition for further explanation.

Group Author?

Example:
American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). Washington, D.C.: Author.

Explanation:
This includes a name of a study group, government agency, association, corporation, etc. Put the name of the group author in the author position followed by a period.

More information: See p. 184 in the APA Manual 6th Edition for further explanation.

Example

Lu, M. C., & Bragonier, J. R. (2002). Maternal and child health. In L. Breslow (Ed.), Encyclopedia of public

   health
(Vol. 3, pp. 729-735). New York, NY: Macmillan.

Explanation

Author of the article: Lu, M. C., & Bragonier, J. R.
Begin with Last name first. First and middle name always represented by initials.

Year of publication: (2002).
Date the encyclopedia set was published. Examine the title page or the title page verso (backside) to determine the date of publication. Place in parentheses with a period following.

Title & subtitle of the article: Maternal and child health.
Title and subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize only the first word of the title and subtitle and any proper nouns. End with a period.

Editor Information: In L. Breslow (Ed.),
Begin with the word "In". Follow with the first and middle name initials, then full last name. Place Ed. followed by a period in parentheses. Close with a comma.

Title & subtitle of the encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of public health.
Title and subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize only the first word of title and subtitle, and any proper nouns. Italicize title and subtitle and end with a period.

Volume and page numbers: (Vol. 3, pp. 729-735).
In parentheses, volume number of encyclopedia the article appears in and the page numbers. Use p. if the article is one page in length, pp. if it is more than one. Place in parentheses. Close with a period.

Place of publication: New York, NY:
List the city and state of the publisher's location. Use the standard postal abbreviations for states.  For publishers outside the United States list the city and country. Separate place from publisher with a colon.  If more than one city is given, use the first city listed or, if specified, the name of the publisher's home office.  Separate from publisher with a colon.  Ex. = Duluth, MN:

Publisher: Macmillan.
Shorten publisher's name to most concise form. End the citation with a period.

NOTE: For more information about book citations, see page 203 of the APA Manual, 6th ed. For title format or publication information, see pages 185 & 186 respectively in the APA Manual, 6th ed.

Online Encyclopedia Example

Reitz, J. M. (2007). Margin. ODLIS: Online dictionary for library and information science.

     Retrieved from http://lu.com/odlis/odlis_M.cfm#

Online Encyclopedia Explanation

Author: Reitz, J. M.
Begin with Last name first. First and middle name always represented by initials.

Year of publication: (2007).
Date the encyclopedia set was published. Examine the title page or the title page verso (backside) to determine the date of publication. Place in parentheses with a period following.

Title & subtitle of the article: Margin.
Title and subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize only the first word of the title and subtitle and any proper nouns. End with a period.

Title & subtitle of the encyclopedia: ODLIS: Online dictionary for library and information science.
Title and subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize only the first word of title and subtitle and any proper nouns. Italicize title and subtitle and end with a period.

Retrieval Statement: Retrieved from http://lu.com/odlis/odlis_M.cfm#
Begin with "Retrieved from". Add url of web site. Do NOT end with a period!

NOTE: For more information about book citations, see pages 203 & 205 of the APA Manual, 6th ed.

Entire Encyclopedia Example

Goethals, G. R., Sorenson, G. J., & Burns, J. M. (Eds.). (2004). Encyclopedia of leadership. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.

Entire Encyclopedia Explanation

Editors of Reference Book: Goethals, G. R., Sorenson, G. J., & Burns, J. (Eds.).
Begin with Last name first. First and middle name always represented by initials. Follwed by Eds in parentheses. End with a period.

Year of publication: (2004).
Date the encyclopedia set was published. Examine the title page or the title page verso (backside) to determine the date of publication. Place in parentheses with a period following.

Title & subtitle of the encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of leadership.
Title and subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize only the first word of title and subtitle, and any proper nouns. Italicize title and subtitle and end with a period.

Place of publication: Thousand Oaks, CA:
List the city and state of the publisher's location. Use the standard postal abbreviations for states.  For publishers outside the United States list the city and country. Separate place from publisher with a colon.  If more than one city is given, use the first city listed or, if specified, the name of the publisher's home office. 

Publisher: Sage.
Shorten publisher's name to most concise form. End the citation with a period.

NOTE: For more information about book citations, see page 204 of the APA Manual, 6th ed. For title format or publication information, see pages 185 & 186 respectively in the APA Manual, 6th ed.