ScholastiCAT tee-shirts now on sale
In Italy he was known as lepus ut cursa tecta, but in Ireland he was Scholasticat, the beloved feline of the Monastery of Blarney, of whom many a miraculous tale was told and set down in the lost book Vita Sancti Finnei Radii (The Life of St. Fineous the Radiant). The CSS Library now offers you the chance to pick up a Scholasticat tee-shirt and support your library at the same time. All proceeds go to the Friends of the CSS Library. For a peek at the shirt, visit: http://libguides.css.edu/content.php?pid=332510&sid=3533865
If you are on-campus, stop by the Library and pick one up. If you are at a distance, use the form in the left-hand column to order.
February, 2013.
Ebsco Ebook Collection Returns
We’ve added a new ebook collection to the Library. You now have access to over 82,000 academic titles (in addition to the couple of hundred thousand we already offer) that you can view on your computer or download to your e-reader. The collection can be searched individually on our book catalog menu or as part of SOLAR (search by topic, then limit to ebooks). For more info on all our ebooks, visit our ebook guide.
Unasema Kiswahili?
Unasema Kiswahili? No? Well don’t worry. Mango just announced the addition of four new languages – Swahili, Romanian, Egyptian, and Modern Standard Arabic.
Click on over to our Mango Lib Guide to get started.
http://libguides.css.edu/Mango
New Popular Reading for Semester Break!
We’ve just shelved a baker’s double-dozen of new titles for your holiday break reading pleasure. Be ready for when The Cable features you in “What I Like About Me.” When it comes to your “personal style” you can sum it up in two words: “I read.” Books are a little black dress for your brain.
For a list of new titles, visit the Library’s Popular Reading Page.
Or, visit us on LibraryThing and use the tag - December 2012.
If you are in the mood to expand your horizons while lying on the couch with the snow falling outside the window, visit our Faculty Reading List Archive to see what your professors read when once upon a time they were just like you.
Happy holidays and safe travel from your Library!
PsychEXTRA & PsychCRITIQUES
We have long-term trials of the following APA databases. Access expires 6/30/2013.
- PsycEXTRACoverage of the “gray literarure” - technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.
- PsycCRITIQUESApproximately 40,000 full-text reviews of scholarly & professional books in psychology. Also, reviews of popular films and trade books from a psychological perspective. Coverage dates back to 1956.
New Popular Reading for Semester Break!
We've just shelved over 40 new fiction & non-fiction titles to our Popular Reading Collection. From big fat novels by Ken Follett, to the latest Wm. Kent Krueger mystery, to a tribute to the always magical world of Tolkien's Hobbit, we have something for every taste.
And yeah, we just doubled our books-on-tape collection.
For a complete list of what's new in print, visit our Popular Reading Guide or vist us on LibraryThing and use the tag "October 2012."
Happy reading!
October, 2012.
Free Trial of Applied Science & Technology Source
This is the premier full-text resource for coverage of the research and development spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines. This database offers accurate and diverse content that focuses on traditional engineering challenges & research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Applied Science & Technology Source was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and includes many unique sources that were never previously available. Providing content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science & Technology Source provides comprehensive coverage for a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
- Applied Science & Technology SourceTrial expires January 15th, 2013.
Free Trial of Legal Source
Providing full-text coverage of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, this database is the authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Legal Source was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and includes many unique sources that were never previously available. This collection offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.
Users will appreciate the international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law.
- LegalSourceTrial expires December 31st.
Sign Out & Sign Up
Last summer we offered you the chance to know what's new in the Library by signing up for email alerts via FeedMyInBox. But that was soooo last summer.
You can drop that subscription like a hot potato because now you can sign up for email alerts directly from the Library for any of our guides you like. Sign up for this guide - "What's New?" by following the link for "email alerts" located right above the search box. Or, if you just want to know when we update our popular reading collection, visit our Popular Reading Guide [ http://libguides.css.edu/CSSPopularReading ] and sign up for an email alert there.
Never miss a new resource in the Library again! And follow our investigation as we get to the bottom of the "mad craner" who has been flocking the Library!
October, 2012.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
The Library would like to extend a special thanks the CSS English Department whose generous contribution allowed us to add Early English Books Online to our collection. EEBO is a digital archive of every book published in the United Kingdom from the years 1473 to 1700 - literature, history, theology, science, & even joke books. So whether you are naughty fox like Reynard, a poet like John Donne, or a person of science like Sir Isaac Newton, you will be found in Early English Books Online.
October, 2012
Ebsco Academic ebook Collection
- Ebsco Academic Ebook CollectionMore than 83,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month at no additional cost. Subject coverage includes: Art | Business & Economics | Education | Language Arts & Discipline | Literary Criticism | Medical | Performing Arts | Philosophy | Poetry | Political Science | Religion | Social Science | Technology & Engineering | And many others...
Calling all Friends of the Library!
Please consider becoming a charter member of the Friends of the CSS Library Community. We will have an opening "kick-off" at this year's Centennial / Homecoming celebration. Friends who join our organization by or on September 15th will have their names added to the charter - a beautiful hand illuminated document currently being worked on by calligrapher Meridith Schifsky. We plan to frame this statement of support and give it a place of honor in the Library for the next 100 years.
For information on becoming a Friend, visit The College of St. Scholastica Library Friends.
Scholasticat - feles bibliothecae
September 2012
We've added PsycTests & Mental Measurements Yearbook
We've added two great new databases to our Library's stable.
Mental Measurements Yearbook is a tool for the evaluation of research instruments & includes contact information for pricing & permission.
PsycTests, produced by the American Psychological Association, contains actual instruments & questionnaires that you can use in designing and executing your research.
Use the link below to access these great new resources.
July, 2012.
New Popular Reading for the Heat of Summer
It might be hot outside, but we've just shelved the cool reading for summer. Forty new fiction & non-fiction titles have arrived. We've got a CSS grad turned world champion, a dog with a nose for crime, one of the most beautiful gardens in the world, Antigone in Afghanistan, death on K2, and a lot more.
Visit our Popular Reading page for a complete list, or visit us on LibraryThing and use the tag July 2012.
July, 2012.
AskUs@CSS gets even better!
We've made the Library's popular AskUs@CSS even easier to use. Look for the pop-up Ask Us button on the left side of every Library page & just click when you want to ask a CSS Librarian a question. AskUs@CSS also archives past questions, meaning you can readily find answers for the most common questions asked, and with each new question you ask the resource become even more useful.
While Librarians might not be the Borg, use AskUs@CSS to pick our collective brain!
June, 2012
We're happy about HaPI!
"Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more." - publisher's description
What does this mean to you? Psychological research depends on instruments, such as questionnaires, to measure anxiety, depression, or hey, even happiness! You want to use instruments that are valid, that actually measure what they claim to. Use HAPI to find research on an instrument, and in some cases, if the instrument is in the public domain, a copy of it.
June, 2012
- Health & PsychoSocial Instruments (HaPI)Reviews of instruments and questionnaires from the journal literature. HAPI is limited to 5 users at one time.
New Guides
- Last Updated May 14, 2013
Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (same user name and password as Cor, BlackBoard, or your CSS email)
6 views this year
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (same user name and password as Cor, Blackboard, or your CSS email).
80 views this year
- Last Updated May 13, 2013
Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (same user name and password as Cor, BlackBoard, or your CSS email).
3 views this year
- Last Updated May 3, 2013
Shows lots of ways the Library is here to help students
21 views this year
- Last Updated May 21, 2013
Browse the most current print & video additions to the College's Library.
29 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (user name and password as Cor, BlackBoard, or your CSS email).
160 views this year
- Last Updated May 3, 2013
LibGuide to help you learn how to use tablets such as iPads for educational use
238 views this year
Loading...
